Boston University falls to host Arizona in NCAA Softball Regional

PATRIOTLEAGUE.ORG BU's Chelsea Kehr delivered a grand slam in a 9-6 loss to Arizona
BU's Chelsea Kehr delivered a grand slam in a 9-6 loss to Arizona

May 17, 2014

Patriot League Softball NCAA Regional Preview Get Acrobat Reader

Box Score | NCAA Division I Softball Tournament Bracket

TUCSON, Ariz. - Host University of Arizona posted big innings in the second and fifth frames to hold off Patriot League Champion Boston University for a 9-6 win in a NCAA Tournament Softball game at Hillenbrand Stadium on Friday night.

The Wildcats struck first with four runs in the bottom of the second inning but BU struck back to tie the game on a grand slam by Patriot League Tournament MVP Chelsea Kehr. The slugging first baseman hit a two-out pitch from Arizona starter Shelby Babcock for her third home run in the last week.

Arizona took the lead for good with a pair of runs in the bottom of the third and Estela Pinon replaced Babcock to start the fourth and shut down the BU offense for the next three innings as the eight-time national champions stretched the advantage to 9-4.

The Terriers closed to within 9-6 in the final inning on a Kehr sacrifice fly and an RBI single by junior outfielder Mandy Fernandez but Pinon, who struck out eight over her four innings, got the final outs to quell the threat.

Boston University will now face AAC champion Louisville at 7 p.m. ET in an elimination contest. The Cardinals were 13-9 losers to Louisiana State University in the opening game of the Tucson Regional.

Arizona will face the Tigers in the first game on Saturday at Hillenbrand Stadium with the winner of that contest advancing to Sunday's championship game in the double-elimination format.

Tucson Regional
(Hillenbrand Stadium, Tucson, Ariz)

Friday, May 16

Game One: LSU 13, Louisville 9
Game Two: Arizona 9, Boston U. 6

Saturday, May 17

Game Three: Arizona vs. LSU, 4:30 p.m. ET
Game Four: Louisville vs. Boston University, 7:00 p.m. ET
Game Five: Game Three loser vs. Game Four winner, 9:30 p.m. ET

Sunday, May 18

Game Six: Game Three winner vs. Game Five winner, 4 p.m. ET
Game Seven: Rematch of Game Six if necessary, 6:30 p.m. ET