All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards Announced in Women's Soccer

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Carin Gabarra, in her 20th season at Navy, captured her third Patriot League Coach of the Year honor Thursday.
Carin Gabarra, in her 20th season at Navy, captured her third Patriot League Coach of the Year honor Thursday.

Nov. 1, 2012

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. – Patriot League Tournament host Navy and No. 2 seed Colgate were the big winners when the All-Patriot League Team and major awards were announced by the League office Thursday. The two schools tied with a League-leading six selections apiece, while the two split the five major individual trophies.

In all, 17 of the 23 All-League selections will be on hand for the League tournament, which gets underway with two semifinal bouts Friday at the Glenn Warner Soccer Facility in Annapolis, Md.

Colgate’s Jillian Kinter was named the Offensive Player of the Year, fulfilling the early expectations after she was named the Preseason Offensive Player of the Year by the head coaches and sports information directors in August. Her freshman teammate Catherine Williams was named Rookie of the Year. Navy collected the three remaining major awards, as sophomore Jade Seabrook was named Defensive Player of the Year, junior Elizabeth Hoerner was tabbed as Goalkeeper of the Year and Carin Gabarra was honored as Coach of the Year.

Voting was conducted by the League’s eight head coaches who could not cast a ballot for themselves or their student-athletes. Normally 11 members apiece, the first team All-League squad has 12 because of a tie in the voting.

Kinter, a senior forward, also earned first-team All-League status after finishing the regular season leading the League with 13 goals and 35 points, while tying for the top spot with nine assists. The Newburyport, Mass., native was also the top offensive performer during League play, as she led all three categories with five goals and five assists for 15 points.

Seabrook becomes the second straight sophomore to capture the Defensive Player of the Year nod after Army’s Molly McGuigan did so in 2011. She has appeared in 18 of Navy’s 20 contests this season, with a pair of goals and four assists for eight points. One of her two markers is a game-winner. Seabrook was named BRINE Defensive Player of the Week twice this season.

Hoerner picked up her first BRINE Goalkeeper of the Week award on Monday, and supplemented it Thursday with the Goalkeeper of the Year nod. She earned first-team All-League honors after posting a 16-1-1 record entering the League tournament with a 1.07 goals-against average and an .800 save percentage. She’s posted four clean sheets this season, and combined on three others.

Williams is the second straight Rookie of the Year and third in the last four years to come from Colgate. The freshman attacker stands second in the League with 28 points, tied for second with 10 goals and tied for third with eight assists. She was named the BRINE Rookie of the Week four times this season, one shy of the record. Williams finished second in League play with 11 points (4 goals, 3 assists).

The architect of the Navy women’s soccer program, Carin Gabarra’s 255th victory on the Mids’ sidelines last weekend secured the No. 1 seed and hosting responsibilities for the program for the first time since 2008. She earns her third Coach of the Year honor after in her 20th season in Annapolis (1996, 2006). The Mids own the nation’s second-longest unbeaten streak at 19 games (18-0-1), and they posted a 6-0-1 League record to claim their seventh regular-season title and host this year’s four-team tournament.

Navy edged Colgate for the lead with four All-League selections on the first team, while the Raiders garnered three. Joining Hoerner and Seabrook on the first team from Navy were junior forward Paloma Perez and freshman midfielder Kaylie Davidson. Perez is seventh in the League with 18 points (5 goals, 8 assists), while Davidson has been one of the top rookies to emerge in 2012. She has 17 points (7 goals, 3 assists) through the regular season.

Colgate’s third representative on the first team was sophomore Caroline Brawner. The midfielder is third on the Raiders with 15 points.

American, Army, Holy Cross, Lafayette and Lehigh each placed one on the first team. Finishing out the squad of 12 were American senior defender Hannah Tatro (18 games played), Army junior defender Molly McGuigan (18 games, 2 assists), Holy Cross sophomore midfielder Gina Righini (5 goals, 2 assists for 12 points), Lafayette senior attacker Jill Dozier (9 goals, 2 assists for 20 points) and Lehigh freshman defender Paige Elliott (2 goals, 2 assists for 6 points).

Colgate led with three selections on the second team, including 2011 Rookie of the Year Jenna Raepple at forward (3 goals, 5 assists for 11 points). Joining her were junior midfielder Kelsey Hough (1 goal, 4 assists for 6 points) and senior defender Elise Amioka (3 assists).

American, Bucknell and Navy placed two apiece on the second team. The Eagles were represented by senior midfielder Michelle Montilio (3 goals, 4 assists for 10 points) and sophomore defender Kirsten Eriksen (18 games played). The two Bison to make the team were senior midfielder Kayla Yee (2 goals, 3 assists for 7 points) and senior goalkeeper Sandita McDermott (10-8-0, 1.27 GAA, 7 shutouts). Navy’s two selections were junior forward Ashlynn Soellner (10 goals, 7 assists for 27 points) and sophomore defender Julie Schumacher (League-high 9 assists).

The second team was rounded out by Army junior forward Joey Molacek (7 goals, 3 assists for 17 points) and Lehigh junior midfielder Murphee Greeley (5 goals, 2 assists for 12 points).

Second-seeded Colgate and No. 3 American will open the Patriot League Tournament Friday at 3 p.m. in Annapolis, Md. The night cap will feature top seed and host Navy taking on No. 4 Lehigh at 7 p.m. The semifinal winners will square off in the championship match Sunday at 2 p.m. with an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament at stake.

2012 Patriot League Women’s Soccer Awards

Offensive Player of the Year – Jillian Kinter, Colgate, Sr., F
Defensive Player of the Year – Jade Seabrook, Navy, So., D
Goalkeeper of the Year – Elizabeth Hoerner, Navy, Jr., GK
Rookie of the Year – Catherine Williams, Colgate, Fr., F
Coach of the Year – Carin Gabarra, Navy

First Team All-Patriot League*
Jillian Kinter, Colgate, Sr., F
Catherine Williams, Colgate, Fr., F
Jill Dozier, Lafayette, Sr., F
Paloma Perez, Navy, Jr., F
Caroline Brawner, Colgate, So., M
Gina Righini, Holy Cross, So., M
Kaylie Davidson, Navy, Fr., M
Hannah Tatro, American, Sr., D
Molly McGuigan, Army, Jr., D
Paige Elliott, Lehigh, Fr., D
Jade Seabrook, Navy, So., D
Elizabeth Hoerner, Navy, Jr., GK

Second Team All-Patriot League
Joey Molacek, Army, Jr., F
Jenna Raepple, Colgate, So., F
Ashlynn Soellner, Navy, Jr., F
Michelle Montilio, American, Sr., M
Kayla Yee, Bucknell, Sr., M
Kelsey Hough, Colgate, Jr., M
Murphee Greeley, Lehigh, Jr., M
Kirsten Eriksen, American, So., D
Elise Amioka, Colgate, Sr., D
Julie Schumacher, Navy, So., D
Sandita McDermott, Bucknell, Sr., GK

*First team has 12 members because of a tie in the voting