Patriot League Women's Soccer Release - 8.26.14

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Holy Cross Fr. Aly Spencer had a hat trick in win over LIU
Holy Cross Fr. Aly Spencer had a hat trick in win over LIU
Aug. 26, 2014

Patriot League Women's Soccer Release - 8.26.14 Get Acrobat Reader

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- Nine of 10 Patriot League teams have opened their women's soccer seasons, with six picking up at least one victory during the first few days of competition.

• BU fell behind 1-0 to both La Salle and BC before rallying with two second-half goals to win both contests.
• Holy Cross has netted eight goals and yielded none in racing to a 2-0 start to the season.
• Naomi Meiburger earned her first win as coach at Loyola when Greyhounds defeated her alma mater, George Mason.
• Lafayette will be the final Patriot League team to start the 2014 campaign when they travel to St. Peter's on Tuesday.
• Sr. Brigit Falcón scored the fastest goal into a season (1:55) in Bucknell women's soccer history in 4-2 loss at Hofstra.

Patriot League Notebook

Terriers Tabbed to Repeat
Defending Patriot League Women's Soccer Tournament champion Boston University was tabbed as the preseason favorite in 2014 in a vote of League coaches and SIDs. The Terriers received 15 of the 20 first place votes and tallied 159 points, 2013 runnerup Navy received the remaining five first place votes and were next in the voting with 148. Colgate, who lost to BU on PKs in the tournament semifinals is next with 131 followed by Army (101), American (98), Bucknell (82), Lehigh (55), Loyola (46), Holy Cross (43) and Lafayette (37).

Seniors Dominate Preseason All-League
Reigning Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year Morgan Dankanich and Defensive Player of the Year Jade Seabrook, both Navy seniors, headline what is a preseason All-League team laden with 10 seniors. Other seniors include Lindsay Muri (American), Caroline Brawner (Colgate), Rachel Hunter (Navy), Evelyn Nicinski (Bucknell), Gina Righini (Holy Cross), Kirsten Eriksen (American), Kai Miller (Boston U.) and Charlene Belanger (American). The only non-seniors to crack the preseason squad are 2013 Patriot League Rookie of the Year Erica Kosienski (Boston U.) and Colgate junior Catherine Williams. Dankanich and Seabrook were also the preseason choice to repeat as offensive and defensive Players of the Year, respectively.

Navy's Jade Seabrook on Hermann Trophy Watch List
Navy senior defender Jade Seabrook is one of 35 women's soccer players from around the nation to be named to the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for 2014. The St. Paris, Ohio native is a two-time Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and a two-time National Soccer Coaches Association of America All-American who helped anchor the Mids backline as one of the best in the nation in 2013. The Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer and is the official NSCAA Player of the Year award in Division I.

Watch FREE on the Patriot League Network
Once again, the Patriot League will partner with Campus Insiders on the Patriot League Network, a streaming platform that will enable fans to watch League regular season and championship events for free. Currently more than 80 women's soccer matches are scheduled to stream on the Network, including the Patriot League Tournament.