CRCA honors 26 Patriot League rowers as National Scholar-Athletes



May 24, 2012

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. — The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association released its annual awards on Tuesday, and the Patriot League was well represented with 26 National Scholar-Athlete honorees, a trio of All-Region selections and a Regional Assistant Coach of the Year winner.

Five schools placed student-athletes among the CRCA National Scholar-Athlete recipients. led the way Patriot League champion Bucknell led the way with seven, while Navy had six student-athletes honored. Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Colgate each had five recognized and Holy Cross tallied three.

To earn CRCA National Scholar-Athlete status, student-athletes had to hold at least sophomore standing, row in NCAA or IRA eligible boats for at least 75 percent of spring races or in a regional conference event, and achieve a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.5 through the fall semester.

Bucknell’s Emily Gladstone and Navy’s Katherine Ashton were named to the Mid-Atlantic All-Region First Team, while Bucknell’s Amanda Chikowski was named to the second team.

These awards recognize the performances of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions, organized into first and second-team selections. Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score, and must have competed in the varsity boat for at least 75 percent of races this season.

Ten of the rowers honored as CRCA National Scholar-Athletes were members of the Academic All-Patriot League Team, including the Patriot League Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year Theresa Saxton-Fox, of MIT. Bucknell’s Jillian O’Mara and Nicole Pilling; Colgate’s Natalie Bauman; Holy Cross’ Kate Broderick, Beth Charron and Jill Sollazzo; MIT’s Erin Meyer and Allison Simi; and Navy’s Jacqueline Penichet also were honored.

Bucknell assistant coach Dan Wolleben was named the Mid-Atlantic Region Assistant Coach of the Year. The Assistant Coach of the Year award is designed to recognize an assistant coach or associate head coach who meets one or more of the following criteria: Outstanding commitment to his/her program, made a significant impact on the success of his/her program and demonstrated a high level of professionalism and integrity as a coach.

A full list of CRCA National Scholar-Athlete recipients from the Patriot League is included below. For full releases on all of the awards, visit the CRCA website.

CRCA National Scholar-Athletes
Bucknell (7): Katherine Anderson, Emily Gladstone, Anne Goldman, Jillian O'Mara, Nicole Pilling, Sarah Riessen, Katharine Watson.
Colgate (5): Jillian Anderson, Natalie Bauman, Katie Johnescu, Annie Laurie Hines, Macy Warren.
Holy Cross (3): Katherine Broderick, Bethany Charron, Jillian Sollazzo.
MIT (5): Samantha Hartzell, Rebecca Heywood, Erin Meyer, Theresa Saxton-Fox, Allison Simi.
Navy (6): Katherine Ashton, Hannah Dildine, Christina Lanouette, Catherine Oakley, Jacqueline Penichet, Michaela Bilotta.