Patriot League announces Rowing Academic All-League Team, Scholar-Athlete

PATRIOTLEAGUE.ORG Scholar-Athlete Erin Meyer, MIT
Scholar-Athlete Erin Meyer, MIT

May 22, 2014

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- Erin Meyer, a senior at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was selected as the 2014 Patriot League Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year on Thursday, and is also one of 11 student-athletes named to the 2014 Academic All-Patriot League Team.

The Engineers, fourth place finishers in the 2014 Patriot League Rowing Championships, led the way with four student-athletes named to the Academic All-League Team. Lehigh had a pair of selections and Boston University, Bucknell, Colgate, Georgetown and Navy had one each.

The awards were voted on by sports information directors around the League who could not cast a vote for their own student-athletes. The Academic All-Patriot League Team was added for all sports at the beginning of the 2010-11 season to honor additional student-athletes who excel both on and off the field.

Meyer, a three-time Academic All-Patriot League selection, helped MIT to a third-place finish in the Varsity 8 race in the 2014 Rowing Championships on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass. Also a first-team All-Patriot League selection, the Austin, Texas native has a 4.0 grade point average majoring in Mechanical Engineering. Meyer is a CoSIDA Academic All-District and a CRCA National Scholar Athlete in 2012 and 2013. She joins a pair of Lehigh student-athletes, Corey Johnson and Leah Paulson, as repeat honorees from the 2013 Academic All-League squad.

Johnson, a junior Biology major, boasts a 3.84 GPA and was a key member of the Mountain Hawks varsity 8 boat. Paulson also sits in the varsity 8 boat for Lehigh and owns a 3.87 GPA as a Global Studies major. Both Johnson and Paulson have garnered the Faculty Athletics Council Award while at Lehigh.

Boston University senior Alexandra Gustafson sits in the 2 seat of the Terriers varsity eight boat that won the Patriot League Championship. The Arlington, Virginia native graduated cum laude with a degree in human physiology (3.47 GPA).



Bucknell's Margo Boyd is part of the Bison' second varsity eight that won the Murphy Cup and Dad Vail and placed second in the Patriot League championship. The junior has a 4.0 GPA in Mathematics and was inducted into the Pi Mu Epsilon organization as a sophomore.

Colgate senior Macy Warren has been a stroke-seat member for the Raiders varsity 8 boat for four years. A psychology major with a 3.92 GPA, Warren is a Colgate Alumni Memorial Scholar, a two-time CRCA National Scholar-Athlete and was the recipient of the Colgate Class of 1997 Award and John T. (Jack) Mitchell Memorial Award.

Georgetown junior Laura Collins rowed in the 7th seat of the varsity eight boat this season and helped the Hoyas to a 6-1 record in dual meets. The Caribou, Maine native has a 3.855 GPA as an English major.

In addition to Meyer, three other MIT rowers were recognized on the 2014 All-League team. Sophomore Veronica Toro (3.92 GPA, Biological Engineering) and juniors Andie Howell (3.68, Biology) and Becca Taylor (3.92, Chemistry) were all starters on either varsity eight or second varsity eight boats for the Engineers.

The final member of the squad is Navy senior Katherine Ashton who sat in the six seat for the Mids varsity 8 boat. Ashton has a 3.77 GPA in Mechanical Engineering.

To be eligible for the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and the Academic All-Patriot League Team, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and be a starter or key player in his/her sport. Freshmen or students in their first academic year at their school are not eligible for the honor.

The Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year for each individual sport comprises the pool of nominees for the Patriot League Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards given out over the summer. One male and one female are selected for this honor.

Patriot League Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Erin Meyer, MIT (Sr.)

Rowing Academic All-Patriot League Team

Alexandra Gustafson, Boston University (Sr.)
Margo Boyd, Bucknell (Jr.)
Macy Warren, Colgate (Sr.)
Laura Collins, Georgetown (Jr.)
Corey Johnson, Lehigh (Jr.)
Leah Paulson, Lehigh (Sr.)
Andie Howell, MIT (Jr.)
Erin Meyer, MIT (Sr.)
Becca Taylor, MIT (Jr.)
Veronica Toro, MIT (So.)
Katherine Ashton, Navy (Sr.)