Ten Bucknell Women's Rowers Named CRCA National Scholar-Athletes

Lightweight Eight

May 22, 2012

  • CRCA National Scholar-Athletes
  • LEWISBURG, Pa. - A program-record-tying 10 Bucknell women's rowing student-athletes were named Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) National Scholar-Athletes, it was announced Tuesday. Elizabeth Aigler, Katherine Anderson, Jennifer Fish, Emily Gladstone, Annie Goldman, Jillian O'Mara, Nicole Pilling, Sarah Riessen, Hilary Strong and Katharine Watson were the 10 Bison cited. Aigler, Fish and Strong were recognized as members of the lightweight eight.

    The CRCA recognized student-athletes who are at least sophomore standing, have a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.50 and have been members of the institution's NCAA or IRA eligible boats for a minimum of 75% of the spring season.

    Bucknell has now had 46 rowers earn CRCA National Scholar-Athlete honors since 2007.

    Anderson, O'Mara and Pilling were each cited by the CRCA for a third consecutive year, while Aigler, Gladstone and Watson were named National Scholar-Athletes for a second time.



    Anderson, Gladstone, O'Mara and Pilling add Tuesday's academic honor to their All-Patriot League citations this year. O'Mara and Pilling were also Academic All-Patriot League selections this spring.

    O'Mara, a three-time All-Patriot League honoree, is now one of the most decorated Bison rowers in program history. Last week, she was named Capital One Academic All-District for a second consecutive year. She is also a two-time Academic All-Patriot League honoree and one of just four rowers in Patriot League history to be a four-year member of the Patriot League Boat of the Year.

    Bucknell, which won its seventh consecutive Patriot League title last month, still has one event remaining this year as the lightweight eight will compete at the IRA National Championship Regatta next week on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J. The Bison won the event in 2007 and have finished in the top five each of the last five years.

    Bucknell's CRCA National Scholar-Athletes (previous CRCA National Scholar-Athlete honors)
    Elizabeth Aigler (lightweight) (2011)
    Katherine Anderson (2010, 2011)
    Jennifer Fish (lightweight)
    Emily Gladstone (2011)
    Annie Goldman
    Jillian O'Mara (2010, 2011)
    Nicole Pilling (2010, 2011)
    Sarah Riessen
    Hilary Strong (lightweight)
    Katharine Watson (2011)