Patriot League announces All-League honorees in rowing

PATRIOTLEAGUE.ORG BU coxswain Sarah Specht
BU coxswain Sarah Specht

May 20, 2014

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. -- Based on a first-place finish in the varsity eight race at the Patriot League Rowing Championships on Friday on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass., Boston University leads all schools with seven All-Patriot League selections, it was announced on Tuesday. The Terriers also finished second in the varsity four race and third in the second varsity eight en route to claiming the overall 2014 team title with 49 points.

Bucknell, which finished second in the varsity eight race and third in the overall standings, had four total All-Patriot League rowers, while Navy, Georgetown and Massachusetts Institute of Technology each had two. Holy Cross had one honoree.

All-Patriot League First Team selections included Boston University's coxswain, Sarah Specht and rowers Alex Gustafson, Lynn Ratté and Westanna Carleton. Bucknell had two selections with Amanda Chikowski and Andrea Seifert. Georgetown's Alli Flinn, Navy's Katherine Quinn and MIT's Erin Meyer round out the first team.

BU's Mackenzie Wiler, Kerry Kennedy and Claire Richer were all named to the All-League Second Team. They were joined by Bucknell's Kathleen Hickes (coxswain) and Amanda McCabe, Georgetown's Carly McCaffrey, Navy's Katherine Ashton, MIT's Betsy Soukup and Holy Cross' Bridget Schirripa.

Chikowski and Quinn each earned first team honors for the second straight season while Meyer moved up from second team in 2013 to first team.

The Terriers rallied past defending Patriot League champion Navy with their win in the varsity eight as the Mids slipped to fourth place in the final event and finished with 45 overall points. Boston University will represent the Patriot League in the NCAA Division I Championship, which will race May 30-June 1 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis.

Bucknell, which won seven straight Patriot League titles from 2006-2012, scored 43 points to finish third, while MIT tallied 38 to take fourth place. Associate member and newcomer Georgetown was fifth with 33 points and Holy Cross was sixth on its home course with 21. Lehigh (18), Colgate (17) and Loyola University Maryland (6) rounded out the 2014 standings.



By winning the varsity eight race, Boston University claimed the Boat of the Year distinction that comes with that accomplishment. Terriers coach Stacey Rippetoe was named Patriot League Coach of the Year in her first year of competition since BU joined the Patriot League from the CAA.

First Team
Sarah Specht, Boston University, Sr., coxswain
Alex Gustafson, Boston University, Sr.
Lynn Ratté, Boston University, Sr.
Westanna Carleton, Boston University, Sr.
Amanda Chikowski, Bucknell, Jr.
Andrea Seifert, Bucknell, Jr.
Katherine Quinn, Navy, Jr.
Erin Meyer, MIT, Sr.
Ally Flinn, Georgetown, Sr.

Second Team
Mackenzie Wiler, Boston University, Sr.
Kerry Kennedy, Boston University, Sr.
Claire Richer, Boston University, Jr.
Kathleen Hickes, Bucknell, Jr., coxswain
Amanda McCabe, Bucknell, So.
Katherine Ashton, Navy, Sr.
Betsy Soukup, MIT, Sr.
Carly McCaffrey, Georgetown, Sr.
Bridget Schirripa, Holy Cross, Sr.

Patriot League Coach of the Year: Stacey Rippetoe, Boston University

Patriot League Boat of the Year: Boston University Varsity Eight