Bucknell Takes Sixth-Straight Rowing Championship



April 24, 2011

Patriot League Rowing Championship page

Worcester, Mass. - It came down to a dramatic finish for the second year in a row, but the end result was the same as Bucknell narrowly won the varsity eight race to claim its sixth-consecutive Patriot League Rowing Championship on Sunday on Lake Quinsigamond.

The Bison trailed Navy by one point entering the varsity eight race, but won the final event of the day in a time of 6:54.2 to hold off Colgate (6:57.2) and the Mids (6:58.1). That victory gave the Bison 33 points, enough to hold off Navy (28) and Colgate (22) for the 2011 Patriot League title. Holy Cross (21), MIT (12) and Lehigh (10) rounded out the final standings.

Bucknell won the varsity eight race for the sixth straight year, once again claiming the Boat of the Year distinction that comes with that accomplishment. Bucknell Head Coach Stephen Kish earned his fifth Patriot League Coach of the Year honor in the last six seasons.

Navy grabbed the early lead by winning the varsity four race in a time of 7:48.0. Colgate (7:57.1), Holy Cross (7:58.1) and Bucknell (8:00.1) were closely bunched, and were followed by MIT (8:36.7) and Lehigh (9:06.8).

Bucknell claimed the second varsity eight race in a time of 6:57.2 to just hold off Navy (6:59.6). The race was completed by Holy Cross (7:07.4), Lehigh (7:17.9), MIT (7:21.6) and Colgate (7:35.8).

Holy Cross was just behind the leaders in the competitive varsity eight race, finishing within a second of Navy in a time of 6:58.9. MIT was just off that pace in a time of 7:02.01, with Lehigh finishing in 7:19.9.

The Patriot League Championship is scored on a weighted system. Points are greatest for the varsity eight race with totals of 18-15-12-9-6-3 by position, while the second varsity eight is scored at 12-10-8-6-4-2 and the finishers in the varsity four race get scored 6-5-4-3-2-1.

Navy finished in second place for the sixth-straight year. The Mids are the only other team to win the Patriot League Rowing Championship, claiming the inaugural title in 2005. Colgate's third-place finish was its highest since 2007.

All-Patriot League honors will be announced next week, with the amount of honorees per team based on the finish in the varsity eight race.

For full coverage, go to the Patriot League Rowing Championship page

2011 Patriot League Rowing Championship

Final Team Standing
1. Bucknell, 33
2. Navy, 28
3. Colgate, 22
4. Holy Cross, 21
5. MIT, 12
6. Lehigh, 10

Varsity Eight
1. Bucknell 6:54.2
2. Colgate 6:57.2
3. Navy 6:58.1
4. Holy Cross 6:58.9
5. MIT 7:02.1
6. Lehigh 7:19.9

Second Varsity Eight
1. Bucknell 6:57.2
2. Navy 6:59.6
3. Holy Cross 7:07.4
4. Lehigh 7:17.9
5. MIT 7:21.6
6. Colgate 7:35.8

Varsity Four
1. Navy 7:48.0
2. Colgate 7:57.1
3. Holy Cross 7:58.1
4. Bucknell 8:00.1
5. MIT 8:36.7
6. Lehigh 9:08.8

Boat of the Year Bucknell Varsity Eight

Coach of the Year Stephen Kish, Bucknell