Bucknell Favored to Win Another Patriot League Rowing Championship

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG 2010 Patriot League Rowing champion Bucknell
2010 Patriot League Rowing champion Bucknell

March 25, 2011

2011 Patriot League Rowing Webguide Get Acrobat Reader

Center Valley, Pa. - Winners of the last five Patriot League Rowing titles, Bucknell was unanimously picked by opposing coaches and sports information directors to claim the crown again in 2011, it was announced on Friday.

The Bison garnered 50 points and all 10 possible first-place votes, as coaches and sports information directors were not allowed to vote for their own team. Bucknell was followed by Navy, which totaled 41 points and a first-place vote, and Colgate with 28 points and the remaining first-place nod. Holy Cross, MIT and Lehigh rounded out the poll.

The seventh Patriot League Rowing Championship will be contested on April 24 at Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass., and the Bison will try to win the title for the sixth year in a row. The Bison narrowly won the crown last year, holding off Navy by just over two seconds in the varsity eight race to edge the Mids by four points at Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J. on April 25, 2010.

Bucknell won the varsity eight race for the fifth year in a row, taking the Boat of the Year award that comes with that victory. Stephen Kish won his fourth Patriot League Coach of the Year honor in the last five seasons. Victoria Dudley and Jillian O'Mara are back after earning first-team All-Patriot League honors last year, while Christina Cabiati was a second-team selection.

The only other program to win a Patriot League title, Navy continues to push the Bison for the crown under veteran head coach Mike Hughes. In addition to nearly beating out Bucknell in last year's varsity eight race, the Mids have won the varsity four race for two of the past three seasons. Navy won the Patriot League title in 2005, and has won at least one race at four of the six Patriot League Championships. The Mids have finished second to Bucknell in each of the past five seasons. Michelle Romero returns after a first-team All-Patriot League nod last year, while Christina Lanouette was a second-team All-Region pick by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA).

Colgate came in fourth place at the League Championship for the third consecutive season in 2010, though the Raiders finished in third place and less than 10 seconds behind Bucknell in the varsity eight race.

Holy Cross has the advantage of racing at its home course on Lake Quinsigamond, where the Crusaders will race seven times leading up to the Patriot League Championship. Holy Cross came in third place at last year's League event, and returns second-team All-Patriot League selection Meaghan Pedlow.

After making its Patriot League debut in 2010, MIT hopes to move up the standings this time around. Led by Head Coach Holly Metcalf, the Engineers placed fifth overall and fourth in the varsity eight race at last year's League Championship. Catherine Crowley was a first-team All-Patriot League selection last season.

Head Coach Brian Conley is in his first season at Lehigh. The Mountain Hawks finished sixth at the 2010 League Championship, and return second-team All-Patriot League pick Jackie Ogden.

The 2011 Patriot League Rowing Championship is a full-field event that consists of a varsity four, second varsity eight and varsity eight race. The event is scored on a weighted scale, with six points for the winner of the varsity four race, 12 for the second varsity eight and 18 for the varsity eight. In the event of a tie in point total, the winner of the varsity eight race is crowned Patriot League champion.

The race will be held at Lake Quinsigamond for the fourth time after being contested there for the first three seasons from 2005-07. The Patriot League Championship had been held at Cooper River for the past three years.

Patriot League teams begin spring competition on Saturday, with Bucknell, Colgate, Lehigh and Navy at the Murphy Cup in Philadelphia, Pa. Each team has events with Patriot League competitors in the field leading up to the League Championship on April 24.

For more information on Patriot League Rowing, read the 2011 webguide Get Acrobat Reader and visit the sport's home page here

2011 Patriot League Rowing Poll

1. Bucknell, 50 points (10 first-place votes)
2. Navy, 41 (1)
3. Colgate, 28 (1)
4. Holy Cross, 25
5. MIT, 24
6. Lehigh, 12