Patriot League Women's Lacrosse Tournament Preview

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG American's Kimberly Collins
American's Kimberly Collins

April 25, 2012

Patriot League Women's Lacrosse Tournament Preview Get Acrobat Reader

Patriot League Women's Lacrosse Championship page

Center Valley, Pa. -- The 2012 Patriot League Women's Lacrosse Tournament gets underway with the semifinals on Friday, as host and top seed Navy faces off with No. 4 seed American at 5 p.m. followed by No. 3 Holy Cross against No. 2 Colgate at 7:45 p.m.

The winners will meet for the Patriot League Championship on Sunday at 12 p.m. All three games from Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium will be streamed live on Patriot League All-Acess for the monthly rate of $7.95.

Watch American-Navy!
Watch Holy Cross-Colgate!

The host Mids are playing for their third consecutive Patriot League Tournament crown after sweeping through the regular season for the first unbeaten Patriot League mark since 2007. Navy is trying to become the first team to win the League Tournament in three straight seasons.

The rest of the field has a different idea, as three teams with tournament experience look to pull an upset in Annapolis. Colgate is going for its sixth League title, and fifth in the Patriot League Tournament. Holy Cross goes in search of its third crown, while American tries to win it all for the second time.

The teams feature plenty of student-athletes who earned All-Patriot League honors on Tuesday. Navy led the way with six selections, and had junior Jasmine DePompeo named Offensive Player of the Year and freshman Loren Generi as the Rookie of the Year. Colgate's Courtney Miller (Midfield Player of the Year) and Holy Cross' Catherine Furman (Defensive Player of the Year) also won major awards.

The winner of the Patriot League Tournament moves on to an NCAA Play-In game on May 5 at the winner of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation. The MPSF Tournament will also be held this weekend at Stanford.

Patriot League Tournament Notebook
Navy to Host 2012 Patriot League Tournament
Navy will become the fifth different team in the last six seasons to host the Patriot League Tournament when the Mids welcome the field to Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium beginning on Friday. The two-time defending champions follow Colgate (2009, 2011), Lehigh (2010), American (2008) and Holy Cross (2006, 2007) as recent hosts of the field. Lafayette has also hosted, making it now six different schools that have held home field for the event in its 12 seasons.

Mids Go For First Tournament Three-Peat
Navy will head to the Patriot League Tournament trying to become the first team to win three consecutive titles in the event. Lafayette won at least three straight titles on three different occasions (1991-93, 1995-98, 2000-02), but only the latter two crowns came after the creation of the Patriot League Tournament in 2001.

Familiar Field
The teams that made the Patriot League Tournament in 2012 are very used to qualifying for the event. Colgate kept its perfect streak alive by going to the postseason for the 12th consecutive year, while Navy has qualified in each of its five seasons in the Patriot League. American stands second in League history with a ninth Patriot League Tournament appearance and is in the field for the second straight year, while Holy Cross is making its sixth trip and second in the past three seasons.

Champions All Around
The four teams in the Patriot League Tournament have combined to win the last nine League championships. American started the run in 2003, and was followed by repeats for Colgate (2004-05), Holy Cross (2006-07), Colgate again (2008-09) and Navy (2010-11). Colgate also won a title in 1999, before the creation of the Patriot League Tournament.

Navy Tries to Win it as No. 1
Navy will be going for a third-straight Patriot League title, and for the first time will be playing as the No. 1 seed. The Mids won the League crown as the No. 3 seed in 2011 and No. 2 in 2010, as the top seed and host has fallen in the final of three of the last four League tournaments. Colgate also won the crown as the No. 2 in 2008. Before that run, the top seed had won the first seven Patriot League Tournaments.

Seed Matchups
The No. 1 seed has made it to the final in all 11 seasons of the Patriot League Tournament, knocking off the No. 4 in the semifinals each year. The matchup between No. 2 and No. 3 has been much closer, as the No. 2 holds a slight 6-5 edge in the semifinal matchups. The No. 1 seed has won eight Patriot League titles, while the No. 2 has claimed a pair and Navy became the first No. 3 to win it all last year.

Tournament Teams Played Close Regular-Season Contests
The matchups between teams in the Patriot League Tournament were tightly contested in the regular season. Colgate scored the final six goals of the game to rally for a 12-11 win over Holy Cross on March 24, while American held off the Raiders 19-18 on March 17. Holy Cross opened League play with a 12-8 win over American on March 10. Navy won all of its League contests, but had a tight 8-6 matchup with Colgate on April 7 .

2011 Patriot League Tournament Recap
The 2011 Patriot League Tournament produced the most drama the event has ever seen, as the three games were decided by a total of four goals. In the semifinals, No. 1 seed Colgate beat No. 4 American 15-14 in triple overtime on a goal by Amanda O'Sullivan before No. 3 Navy held off No. 2 Lehigh 10-8. The championship produced a dramatic comeback, as Navy scored the final five goals and got the game-winner from Katrina Nietsch with 28 seconds left to stun Colgate 15-14. Jasmine DePompeo led the Mids and was named Patriot League Tournament MVP after setting tourney records with 13 points and seven assists in the two games.

Patriot League Tournament Games

Semifinals - Friday - Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium

No. 4 American (7-9, 3-3 PL) at No. 1 Navy (15-2, 6-0 PL): 5 p.m.

All-Time Tournament Records (Championships)
American: 6-7 (2003) Navy: 5-2 (2010, 2011)

Tournament History American and Navy are squaring off in the Patriot League Tournament for the second time. In 2008, the seeds were reversed when the Eagles beat the Mids 17-15 in a semifinal matchup that marked Navy's first appearance in the field. The Eagles are in the event for the ninth time, and have made it to the Patriot League Championship game on five occasions with a title in 2003. Navy is in its fifth Patriot League Tournament, and looking for its third crown in a row after winning it all in 2010 and 2011. The Mids have been to three straight Patriot League title games, falling to Colgate in 2009.

No. 3 Holy Cross (9-7, 4-2 PL) vs. No. 2 Colgate (6-10, 4-2 PL): 7:45 p.m.

All-Time Tournament Records (Championships)
Holy Cross: 6-3 (2006, 2007) Colgate: 10-7 (1999 (Regular Season), 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009)

Tournament History The Crusaders and Raiders face off in the Patriot League Tournament for the fourth time, with Holy Cross holding a 2-1 advantage to date. Colgate beat Holy Cross 11-4 for the Patriot League title in 2005, but the Crusaders returned the favor the next year with a 9-6 win in the championship. Holy Cross also knocked off Colgate 9-6 in a semifinal in 2007 on its way to a title. Colgate has played in all 11 previous Patriot League Tournaments, advancing to six title games and winning it all four times. Holy Cross went to the title contest in three straight years from 2005-07, and won it all in the latter two years.

For more on the Patriot League Tournament, visit the Patriot League Women's Lacrosse Championship page. To get all of the latest information, including this week's releases of All-Patriot League and Academic All-Patriot League teams, go to Patriot League Women's Lacrosse Central