Seven Patriot Leaguers Earn NFHCA All-Region Honors

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Lafayette's Deanna DiCroce
Lafayette's Deanna DiCroce

Nov. 15, 2012

NFHCA All-Region Teams Get Acrobat Reader
NFHCA Senior Game Get Acrobat Reader

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Seven Patriot League players earned recognition for their 2012 campaigns on Thursday with spot on the Longstreth/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division I All-Region Teams.

In the Mideast Region, Lafayette seniors Deanna DiCroce and Emily Valeo were named to the first team while their sophomore teammate, Brittany Blass, and Bucknell senior Tayler Siegrist were placed on the second team. Three players from American were selected in the Mid-Atlantic Region, with senior Gina Hofmann and junior Shelly Montgomery on the first team and junior Jaclyn Anspach on the second team.

In addition to their All-Region honors, DiCroce, Hofmann, Valeo and Siegrist were all selected to play in the NFHCA Division I Senior Game on Saturday at 3 p.m. at Old Dominion University.

The Lafayette trio was all instrumental in leading the Leopards to their second straight Patriot League title and their first berth in the NCAA Tournament since 1999. DiCroce finishes her career second in League history in points and third in assists and goals, and enjoyed an outstanding final year with 18 goals and 15 assists to win the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year award. Valeo set a Patriot League record with 46 assists in her career, and her 18 assists this season stand second in League history. Blass was named Patriot League Defensive Player of the Week a record six times while pacing a squad the led the League in goals against average.

Hofmann finished the year with six goals and nine assists while also shining on the other end of the field as the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year. Montgomery placed second in the Patriot League with 16 goals, while Anspach had seven goals on the season.

Siegrist led Bucknell with eight goals and 22 points, and also earned acclaim for her success in the classroom as the Patriot League Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

All seven student-athletes earned All-Patriot League honors in 2012, with each except for Anspach on the first team.

Full releases are available from the NFHCA for the All-Region Teams Get Acrobat Reader and Senior Game Get Acrobat Reader