PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Colgate junior Peter Baum was named the 2012 Tewaaraton Award winner Thursday night in Washington, D.C.
Colgate junior Peter Baum was named the 2012 Tewaaraton Award winner Thursday night in Washington, D.C.

May 31, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Colgate junior Peter Baum's awards haul grew larger Thursday night when he was named the 2012 Tewaaraton Award winner in a ceremony at the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian in the nation's capital.

Baum became the first student-athlete in Colgate and Patriot League history named the winner of the Tewaaraton Award. Baum's capturing of the honor comes on the heels of him winning the Lt. Raymond Enners Award six days ago by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) as the Most Outstanding Player in Division I men's lacrosse. He was also the first in Colgate and League annals to earn that honor.

Other Tewaaraton finalists included Duke's C.J. Costabile, Will Manny of Massachusetts, Loyola (Md.)'s Mike Sawyer and last year's winner Steele Stanwick of Virginia.

Baum finished his junior season leading the nation with 67 goals and 97 points. Both were school and League records. His point total was the highest in the nation since Duke's Matt Danowski scored 97 in 2008. Baum was named first-team All-Patriot League at the end of the regular season for the third consecutive year, and earned All-Tournament laurels after notching a tournament-record 18 points in two contests. His point total included tying the tournament single-game record of five goals and breaking the tournament's two-game record with 10 assists.

Last week Baum earned first-team All-America honors from the USILA a day before being named the Enners Award winner. He was also a member of the Academic All-Patriot League team for his prowess both on the field and in the classroom.

Baum becomes the sixth player to capture the Enners and Tewaaraton awards in the same season. The Tewaaraton Award, presented to the top men's and women's college lacrosse players in the country, is awarded by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance and the University Club of Washington, D.C. It was first presented in 2001.

Baum became the first Tewaaraton winner not to play in the national championship game since the award's first year in 2001, when Hofstra's Doug Shanahan earned the nod.

Baum's capturing of the Tewaaraton Award, recognized as perhaps the most prestigious award in intercollegiate lacrosse, caps off a tremendous season for the Colgate men's lacrosse program in general. The Raiders set a school record with 14 victories, earned their first at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament and captured the program's first victory in the 16-team field. Colgate upended No. 6 seed and previously undefeated Massachusetts, 13-11, in the first round before falling to Duke in the quarterfinals at PPL Park in Chester, Pa.

Baum, a native of Portland, Ore., is the first Tewaaraton Award recipient not from the East Coast. He was the Patriot League's second consecutive finalist for the award, following in the footsteps of Army's Jeremy Boltus, who was one of the last five candidates a season ago.