Patriot League Men's Lacrosse Championship Game Preview

PATRIOTLEAGUE.ORG Loyola's Brian Schultz
Loyola's Brian Schultz

April 26, 2014

Patriot League Men's Lacrosse Championship Game Preview Get Acrobat Reader

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Lehigh's Reid Weber scored off a pass from Dan Taylor with 3.7 seconds left to send the third-seeded Mountain Hawks 13-4) to the Patriot League Championship for the third year in a row with a dramatic 12-11 win over Army.

Patriot League Notebook

Loyola Hosts Semifinals and Championship
The Greyhounds fell behind 1-0 on an early goal by Colgate's Ryan Walsh but responded with the first of three three-goal outbursts in a 12-6 win over the Raiders. Brian Schultz finished the game with four goals and an assist while Justin Ward also had five points for the Greyhounds with two goals and three assists. Goalkeeper Jack Runkel had 11 saves for the Greyhounds who also were successful on 24-of-26 clear attempts.

Lehigh Upends Army with Late Goal
Reid Weber scored off a pass from Dan Taylor with 3.7 seconds left to send third-seed Lehigh (13-4) to the Patriot League Championship for the third year in a row with a dramatic 12-11 win over Army. Taylor had an eight-point night for the Mountain Hawks, finishing with four goals and four assists and Weber contributed three goals including the game-winner. The loss was the first for the Black Knights since March 15 and dampened a strong individual effort from Dan Glesener who netted five goals and added an assist.

Army and Colgate Come up Short
Colgate, who won its only Patriot League Men's Lacrosse Championship in 2008, lost in the semifinal round for the second consecutive season. Army has not reached the Patriot League Championship game since winning the tournament in 2010. The Black Knights have lost in the 2/3 game of the tournament every season since winning their last title.

2014 Men's Lacrosse Major Award Winners
Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Ward, Loyola, Sr., A
Defensive Player of the Year: Joe Fletcher, Loyola, Sr., D
Defensive Player of the Year: Jack Runkel, Loyola, Sr., GK
Rookie of the Year: Brandon Burke, Colgate, Fr., GK
William Lawson Coach of the Year: Joe Alberici, Army
Men's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete: Joe Fletcher, Loyola, Sr., D

First-Team All-Patriot League
Alex Daly, Army, So., FOS; John Glesener, Army, Jr., A; Thomas Flibotte, Bucknell, So., M; Jackson Place, Bucknell, Sr., D; Matt Clarkson, Colgate, Jr. M; Bobby Lawrence, Colgate, Jr., D; Dan Taylor, Lehigh, Jr., A; Tripp Telesco, Lehigh, So., D; Joe Fletcher, Loyola, Sr., D; Pat Laconi, Loyola, Sr., SSDM; Nikko Pontrello, Loyola, Sr., A; Jack Runkel, Loyola, Sr., GK; Brian Sherlock, Loyola, Fr., M; Justin Ward, Loyola, Sr., A; Gabe Voumard, Navy, Jr., M.

Second-Team All-Patriot League
Pat Hart, Army, Sr., D; Sam Somers, Army, Jr., GK; David Dickson, Bucknell, Jr., A; Eric Foote, Colgate, So., M; Alex Kinnealey, Colgate, Jr., FOS; Ryan Walsh, Colgate, Jr., A; Terry McKenna, Holy Cross, Jr., M; Kurtis Kaunus, Lehigh, Jr., M; Matt Poillon, Lehigh, Jr., GK; Ty Souders, Lehigh, Sr., D; Kevin Ryan, Loyola, Sr., M; Brady Dove, Navy, Fr., FOS; Sam Jones, Navy, Sr., A; Pat Kiernan, Navy, Sr., LSM; Nik Mullen, Navy, Sr., D.

2014 Patriot League Men's Lacrosse Tournament

Championship - Sunday - Ridley Athletic Complex, Baltimore, Md.
No. 3 Lehigh Mountain Hawks (13-4, 6-2 PL) at No. 1 Loyola Greyhounds (13-1, 8-0 PL), 1 p.m.
2014: Loyola, 14-7 (Bethlehem, Pa., 3.1.14) Tournament History: First Meeting

Kevin Ryan scored a career-high five goals and Nikko Pontrello added four as Loyola Maryland University dominated the middle two frames of a 14-7 win over Lehigh March 1 at the Ulrich Sports Center in Bethlehem, Pa. After a battling to a 3-3 tie over the first 15 minutes, the Greyhounds outscored the hosts 4-0 in the second quarter, including a natural hat trick by Pontrello over the first six minutes of the quarter. Jack Runkel was solid in goal for the Greyhounds with 13 saves on 29 Lehigh shots. Patrick Corbett scored a pair of goals for the Mountain Hawks.

Lehigh The Mountain Hawks are the third No. 3 seed to make the League title game, and the last two won the crown as Colgate topped fourth-seed Bucknell in 2008 and Navy won at the top-seed Bison in 2009. The No. 1 seed has won six of the previous 10 League Tournaments, and three of the last four. The Mountain Hawks won as the No. 1 seed in 2013 and won the 2012 title as the No. 2 seed. Lehigh has won six straight Patriot League games and will try to match the program record of 14 wins set in 2012 when the Mountain Hawks ended the season ranked No. 4 in the final polls. Offensively, Lehigh is led by junior attack Dan Taylor (45 goals, 27 assists), Reid Weber (27, 17), Patt Corbett (30, 4) and Kurtis Kaunus (19,8). The defense is anchored by first team All-Patriot League performer Tripp Telesco, captain Ty Souders and 2013 Patriot League Goalkeeper of the Year Matt Poillon, a second team honoree this season.

Loyola Maryland In its first year participating as a member of the Patriot League in Men's Lacrosse, Loyola Maryland has raced to a 13-1 record, including a perfect 8-0 mark in League play during the regular season. The Greyhounds ascended to No. 1 in the national rankings on March 24 and have held the top spot ever since. The 2012 national champions, Loyola is the only team to be in the top five of scoring offense and defense at the Division I level. The Greyhounds are ranked 3rd in goals allowed at 7.00 per game and fifth in scoring at 13.23 goals per game. As a result, the Greyhounds lead the nation in scoring margin (+6.23), The Loyola offense is sparked by Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year Justin Ward (15 goals, 45 assists), Nikko Pontrello (44, 10), Brian Schultz (31, 12) and Kevin Ryan (22, 4). Defensively, the Greyhounds feature both the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year (Joe Fletcher) and Goalkeeper of the Year (Jack Runkel).

Patriot League NCAA Tournament Appearances

6 Navy (2004, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09)
6 Army (1993, 96, 2003, 04, 05, 10)
3 Hobart (2000, 02, 04)*
2 Bucknell (2001, 11)
2 Colgate (2008, 12)
2 Lehigh (2012, 13)

Patriot League NCAA Tournament At-Large Berths

4 Army (1993, 96, 2004, 05)
1 Navy (2008)
1 Colgate (2012)
1 Hobart (2004)

Patriot League NCAA Tournament Victories

5 Navy
2 Army
1 Colgate