The Patriot League will celebrate its 25th Football Anniversary throughout the 2011 campaign with an all-time team as well as variety of retrospective initiatives highlighting the achievements and personalities of former and current student-athletes and coaches.

The Patriot League began as a successful Division I-AA (now called Football Championship Subdivision) football conference in 1986, with charter members Bucknell University, Colgate University, College of the Holy Cross, Lafayette College and Lehigh University. Fordham University has maintained its football-member status since 1990, as the Rams were full members from 1990-94 before becoming associate members for football in 1995. Georgetown has competed in Patriot League football as an associate member since 2001. Davidson (1987-88) and Towson (1997-03) have also competed in Patriot League Football.

Before and during the 2011 season, the Patriot League will continue the coverage of the 25th Anniversary with profiles of each program during its Patriot League tenure, features and audio interivews with significant student-athletes and coaches and a this day in Patriot League history timeline.

In addition to coverage on the Patriot League website, fans will be encouraged to participate in 25th Anniversary discussions on the League's Facebook and Twitter accounts as well as through school and national message boards.

25th Anniversary Players Patriot League Football 25th Anniversary Team

This Day in Patriot League History

Post-Patriot League Success


Historical Profiles