Patriot Leaguers Finish High in FCS Awards Voting

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Georgetown's Robert McCabe
Georgetown's Robert McCabe

Dec. 19, 2012

Sports Network FCS Awards

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - For the second year in a row, Patriot League student-athletes have earned top-five finishes in the voting for the major individual awards in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Georgetown senior linebacker Robert McCabe placed fourth in the Buck Buchanan Award voting announced on Monday. It is the same spot that his former teammate, Andrew Schaetzke, finished last season. The Buck Buchanan Award goes to the top defensive player in the FCS.

Colgate junior quarterback Gavin McCarney had already been announced as the fifth-place finisher in the Walter Payton Award voting, and on Monday it was revealed that he had the second-most first-place votes behind Old Dominion quarterback Taylor Heinicke, the 2012 Walter Payton Award winner. Last year, Lehigh quarterback Chris Lum was the runner-up for the Walter Payton Award.

The Patriot League joins the Colonial Athletic Association as the only leagues to boast top-five finishers for both the Payton and Buchanan awards in each of the last two seasons.

Colgate's Dick Biddle finished 13th and Fordham's Joe Moorhead was 16th in the voting for the Eddie Robinson Award, which goes to the top coach in the FCS.

The three honors were announced along with the Jerry Rice Award (Top Freshman) at The Sports Network FCS Awards Banquet on Monday in Philadelphia. In addition to Heinicke, winners included Montana State's Caleb Schreibeis (Buck Buchanan Award), Villanova's John Robertson (Jerry Rice Award) and North Dakota State's Craig Bohl (Eddie Robinson Award).

The awards were voted upon by a national panel of 145 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries.

Patriot Leaguers have won major FCS awards five times. Colgate running backs Kenny Gamble (1987) and Jamaal Branch (2003) claimed Walter Payton Awards, while Holy Cross' Mark Duffner (1987), Lafayette's Bill Russo (1988) and Lehigh's Pete Lembo (2001) are Eddie Robinson Award winners.

To view the full voting results for each award, go to the Sports Network FCS Awards page