Patriot League Places 11 on ECAC FCS All-Star Team

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Georgetown's Robert McCabe
Georgetown's Robert McCabe

Dec. 18, 2012

ECAC FCS All-Star Team

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - The Patriot League led all conferences with 11 selections to the ECAC Football Championship Subdivision All-Star Team on Monday, including Georgetown senior linebacker Robert McCabe as the ECAC Defensive Player of the Year.

McCabe, who finished fourth in the Buck Buchanan Award voting as the Top Defensive Player in the FCS, is the second straight Hoya to win the ECAC Defensive Player of the Year honor after former teammate Andrew Schaetzke claimed the award last season. He becomes the 10th Patriot Leaguer to receive the ECAC Player, Offensive Player or Defensive Player of the Year award, and the fourth to do so since 2009.

McCabe was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year and a first-team All-Patriot League selection at linebacker after leading the nation in tackles with 159, finishing the regular season with 28 more than any other FCS player. McCabe also added 14.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks for the season to wrap up one of the top careers for a defensive player in Patriot League history. He concludes his time at Georgetown with a school-record 407 tackles, placing him tied for fifth in Patriot League history with the top mark for any player since 1997. His 159 tackles this season also stand tied for fourth in League annals and mark the highest total for any player since 1995. McCabe had 19 consecutive games with double-digit tackles to finish his career. He has already been named an All-American by The Sports Network, Associated Press and American Football Coaches Association, and would earn consensus status if he is also selected by Walter Camp.

The Patriot League's 11 total selections were one more than the Colonial Athletic Association for the highest mark among the eastern FCS conferences. On offense, Colgate junior quarterback Gavin McCarney and senior running back Jordan McCord were selected along with Lehigh senior offensive lineman Mike Vuono. The defensive picks included Lehigh senior Sajjad Chagani and Bucknell senior Samuel Oyekoya on the line, Lehigh senior Billy Boyko along with McCabe at linebacker, and Georgetown senior Jeremy Moore at defensive back. The Patriot League took all three special teams spots, with Fordham senior Patrick Murray named as both the placekicker and punter and Holy Cross freshman Kalif Raymond selected as the return specialist.

McCarney finished the year completing 159-of-256 passes for 2,372 yards with 16 touchdowns and eight interceptions and rushing 193 times for 1,406 yards and 23 touchdowns. He leads the nation in scoring with 11.67 points per game, is fourth in the FCS in points responsible for, seventh in passing efficiency, ninth in total offense and 12th in rushing. McCarney set a Patriot League single-season record for rushing yards by a quarterback, with his 288-yard performance against Lafayette on Nov. 3 standing as the second-best rushing day by any player in Patriot League history. He led Colgate to a top-five mark nationally in rushing, total and scoring offense, and the Raiders averaged 49.3 points and 576.8 yards of total offense per game during Patriot League play. McCarney finished fifth in the voting for the Walter Payton Award (FCS Most Outstanding Player) and has already been named a second-team All-American by The Sports Network and third-team by the AP.

Murray had the best year for a field goal kicker in Patriot League history, going 25-of-30 to shatter the single-season Patriot League record of 19 made field goals and come within just one of the FCS record. He had four field goals of 50 yards or longer, including a Patriot League record and FCS single-season high 55-yarder against Cincinnati on Oct. 13. No other FCS kicker hit more than twice from 50 yards and beyond. Murray was nearly as proficient as a punter, placing second in the nation with a 46.0 average. He earned first-team All-Patriot League honors as both a placekicker and punter, and has since been named the Fred Mitchell Award winner as the top placekicker outside of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Placekicker of the Year.

McCord carried 322 times for 1,708 yards and 23 touchdowns, tying McCarney for the FCS lead in rushing touchdowns and finishing second in the nation in scoring to his quarterback. McCord is fifth in the nation and second in the Patriot League with 142.33 rushing yards per game and stands 12th in the country in all-purpose yardage per contest. McCord earned first-team All-Patriot League honors and was a third-team All-American by The Sports Network.

All three Lehigh players had outstanding seasons as the team finished the regular season with a 10-1 mark and top 15 national ranking. Vuono was the top blocker for an offense that averaged over 30 points and 400 yards per game, while Chagani totaled 45 tackles and seven sacks and Boyko notched 104 tackles and an interception to lead the defense. Lehigh's three selections were tied for the second-most of any team behind New Hampshire's four.

Oyekoya had 40 tackles and nine sacks for the Bison, while Moore recorded 71 tackles, five interceptions and four fumble recoveries in his senior season at Georgetown and Raymond had a 24.3 kickoff return average and a touchdown as a freshman at Holy Cross.

It is the second straight season with double-digit selections to the ECAC All-Star Team after 15 players were chosen from the Patriot League last year.

For the full release and the listing of the 2012 ECAC FCS All-Star Team, go here