Three Bison Named to Patriot League 25th Anniversary Football Team

Mariusz Misiec

July 25, 2011

  • 25th Anniversary Team Accomplishments Get Acrobat Reader
  • 25th Anniversary Team Post-PL Success Get Acrobat Reader
  • 25th Anniversary Team Reaction Quotes Get Acrobat Reader
  • LEWISBURG, Pa. - Three former Bucknell football players were named to the Patriot League's 25th Anniversary Team, the league office announced on Monday. Hunter Adams, A.J. Kizekai and Mariusz Misiec were the three Bison to be honored. Bucknell was one of four league schools to have three players cited, while Colgate (7) and Lehigh (6) made up half of the 26-man roster.

    Bucknell's selections spanned the three major disciplines of football - offense, defense and special teams. Adams was a defensive lineman who graduated in 1998, Kizekai '10 was voted onto the team as a return specialist, while Misiec was an offensive lineman who was a classmate of Adams. Kizekai, one of just 12 players in PL history to be named All-League four times, was one of just three players selected who were active as recently as 2009.

    Both Adams and Misiec were three-time All-Patriot League selections who were also members of the Patriot League's 15th Anniversary Team a decade ago. They were also key components to Bucknell's only Patriot League title in 1996, helping the Bison to a 4-1 league mark.

    Hunter Adams

    A three-year letterwinner, Adams was a First Team All-Patriot League selection in 1996 and 1997 after earning second-team honors as a sophomore in 1995. Listed at 6 feet, 5 inches tall and 278 pounds, Adams finished his career with 188 tackles, 6.5 sacks, 17 tackles for loss and more than a dozen batted-down passes from his end position. He posted at least 50 tackles in each of his final three years, including a career high 70 as a junior.

    Kizekai, who was a First Team All-Patriot League selection as a return specialist three times and was once a Second Team All-League choice as a running back, ended his career with nearly every kickoff return and all-purpose yard mark in the Bison record book. He owns the records for most returns in a career (109) and yards (2,725). Additionally, he holds Bucknell records for most yards in a season (1,113) and game (210) as well as the longest return (100).

    As a senior in 2009, Kizekai, who registered six plays of at least 70 yards in his career, led the Patriot League in all-purpose yards per game (130.0) and stands sixth in Patriot League history and second at Bucknell in career all-purpose yards (5,536).

    In addition to being a stellar return man, Kizekai was a versatile player out of the backfield. He finished his career with 1,638 rushing yards and 1,159 receiving yards. He also scored a total of 20 touchdowns in his 38 games played.

    A.J. Kizekai

    Misiec was a talented offensive lineman who helped pave the way for record-setting running back Rich Lemon in 1996. Like Adams, Misiec earned First Team All-Patriot League honors in 1996 and 1997 after taking home second-team plaudits in 1995. A Gainesville, Fla., native, Misiec started 29 straight games for the Bison before suffering an injury in the seventh game of his senior season.

    The Patriot League 25th Anniversary Team was voted on by each of the seven current football member schools, with each institution getting one vote and ineligible to select their own players. Players qualified for the ballot by earning three-time All-Patriot League status; a first, second or third-team All-America honor; or a Patriot League Player, Offensive Player or Defensive Player of the Year award. Schools were also permitted to include additional candidates that who did not meet the automatic qualification criteria.

    Patriot League 25th Anniversary Football Team

    QB Ryan Vena, Colgate (1996-99)
    RB Kenny Gamble, Colgate (1986-87)
    RB Gordie Lockbaum, Holy Cross (1986-87)
    WR Corey Hill, Colgate (1995-98)
    WR Javarus Dudley, Fordham (2000-03)
    TE Adam Bergen, Lehigh (2001-04)
    OL Will Rackley, Lehigh (2007-10)
    OL Luke George, Colgate (1995-98)
    OL Paul Clasby, Colgate (1996-99)
    OL Mariusz Misiec, Bucknell (1994-97)
    OL Nick Hennessey, Colgate (2005-08)
    PK Jason McLaughlin, Lafayette (1991-94)
    AP A.J. Kizekai, Bucknell (2006-09)

    DL Nick Martucci, Lehigh (1995-98)
    DL Andrew Hollingsworth, Towson (1997-00)
    DL Corey Vincent, Holy Cross (1988-91)
    DL Hunter Adams, Bucknell (1995-98)
    LB Greg Manusky, Colgate (1986-87)
    LB Ian Eason, Lehigh (1996-99)
    LB Andy Romans, Lafayette (2005-08)
    LB Matt Cohen, Lehigh (2006-09)
    DB Dave Murphy, Holy Cross (1986-89)
    DB Tad Kornegay, Fordham (2001-04)
    DB B.J. Gallis, Lafayette (1993-96)
    DB Abdul Byron, Lehigh (1998-01)
    P Barry Cantrell, Fordham (1994-97)