Fordham's Ian Williams Named to 2013 CFPA Defensive Back Watch List

Ian Williams

June 15, 2013

Charlotte, N.C. - College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA FCS Defensive Back Award, and Fordham cornerback Ian Williams (West Palm Beach, Fla./The King's Academy) earned a spot on the list. The preliminary watch list highlights 36 returning performers, vying for the top individual defensive back award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to Ian Williams on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Williams contributed 86 total tackles, 5 interceptions, and two forced fumbles in 2012."

Williams becomes the fourth Ram to be named to a 2013 CFPA Watch List, joining Carlton Koonce (RB), Brian Wetzel (WR) and Dan Light (TE).

Fordham players have earned CFPA honors in three consecutive seasons. Former tight end Stephen Skelton earned CFPA honors in 2010, while specialist Patrick Murray earned the 2011 CFPA Punter Award and 2012 CFPA Placekicker Award.

Williams, who was named Second Team All-Patriot League at defensive back last fall, was second on the squad with 86 total tackles, including a team-high 69 solo, and two tackles for loss. He led the squad with five interceptions and he also had eleven pass breakups and two forced fumbles. He finished third in the Patriot League and tied for tenth in the NCAA FCS in interceptions/game (0.45) and was fourth in the Patriot League in passes defended/game (1.00) and 12th in tackles/game (7.8). Williams notched double figures in tackles three times in 2012, including a season-best 14 tackles, 12 solo, in the Lafayette.



Over his three-year career at Rose Hill, Williams has accumulated 140 total tackles, 110 solo, with two tackles for loss. He also has seven interceptions and 19 pass breakups.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration. Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Current CFPA winners performing as NFL wide receivers include: Dez Bryant, Tavon Austin, Golden Tate, Justin Blackmon, Kendall Wright, Leonard Hankerson, Ryan Broyles, Damian Williams, Chris Summers, Joe Adams, Danario Alexander, Eric Page, Brian Quick, Aaron Mellette, Brandon Kaufman, Reggie Dunn, and Da'Rick Rogers.

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website at ( or follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.