Fordham's Carlton Koonce Named to 2013 CFPA FCS Running Back Award Watch List

Carlton Koonce

May 15, 2013

Bronx, N.Y. - Fordham University redshirt senior running back Carlton Koonce (Lumberton, N.J./Rancocas Valley) has been named to the 2013 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Running Back Award watch list it was announced this week. The preliminary watch list highlights thirty-three returning performers, vying for the top individual running back honor in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to>Carlton Koonce on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," stated CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Koonce has the potential to become the third Fordham player to earn CFPA honors, following former tight end Stephen Skelton and two-time winner Patrick Murray."

Koonce, who earned First Team All-Patriot League honors in 2012, rushed 300 time for 1,596 yards, breaking the Fordham single season school rushing mark of 1,477 yards set by Kirwin Watson in 2003. He also led the Rams with 13 rushing touchdowns and was second on the team with 48 receptions for 313 yards and two scores.

Koonce led the Patriot League and was fourth in the NCAA FCS in rushing yards/game (145.1) and had two 200-yard games in 2012, including a 250-yard contest at Columbia where he tied a Patriot League record with a 92-yard touchdown run. Koonce also led the Patriot League and was sixth in the NCAA FCS in all-purpose yards/game, averaging 173.6/contest.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.



Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Current CFPA winners performing as NFL running backs include: Trent Richardson, Montee Ball, Giovani Bernard, Le'Veon Bell, Mikel Leshoure, LaMichael James, C.J. Spiller, Dexter McCluster, Jahvid Best, Marcus Lattimore, Fozzy Whittaker, Nate Eachus, Taiwan Jones, Miguel Maysonet, and Jerodis Williams.

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website ( Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.