18 Patriot Leaguers Receive Membership to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Fordham's Patrick Murray
Fordham's Patrick Murray

May 3, 2013

NFF Hampshire Honor Society

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Eighteen Patriot Leaguers from six different schools received membership into the 2013 National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.

Representatives on the list from the Patriot League include the following players.
Bucknell: Ryan Gutowski, Patrick Joyce, Samuel Oyekoya, Troy Steinhilber
Colgate: Evan Goldszak, Chris Looney
Fordham: Brendan Melanophy, Patrick Murray, Nick Womack
Holy Cross: Reed Apfelbaum, Josh Hauser, Tom Mannix
Lafayette: Rodney Gould, Jason Marshalek, Sam Stuart, Ethan Swerdlow
Lehigh: Zach Barket, Ryan Spadola

Looney was the 2012 Patriot League Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and one of seven Hampshire Honor Society members that made the Academic All-Patriot League Team in the fall. Oyekoya, Melanophy, Murray, Mannix, Barket and Spadola also made the Academic All-Patriot League squad for their work in the classroom and on the field.

Fourteen of the honorees were also named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in January for achieving at least a 3.2 grade-point average in the fall semester.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:
· Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
· Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
· Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

A total of 703 players from 259 schools qualified for membership in the society's seventh year, marking the highest school participation in the history of the program, which began in 2007.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 4,081 student-athletes since its inception.

For the full release from the National Football Foundation, go here