25 Patriot Leaguers Named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

PATRIOTLEAGUE.ORG Lafayette's Mark Ross
Lafayette's Mark Ross

April 29, 2014

NFF Hampshire Honor Society

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced Tuesday the members of the 2014 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career, and 25 Patriot Leaguers were represented among the 838 student-athletes from 267 schools.

The 25 Patriot League honorees came from six different schools, with a League-high 10 from Holy Cross. Lafayette (6), Bucknell (4), Fordham (2), Lehigh (2) and Colgate (1) also had student-athletes honored. The student-athletes honored from each Patriot League school are listed below.

Bucknell: Tracey Smith, Wayne Stewart, Kyle Sullivan and Sal Vallala
Colgate: Shane Wilson
Fordham: Anthony Pesanello, Joseph Sullivan
Holy Cross: Pete Anastasio, Jack Daly, Mike Fess, Philip Gough, Max Librizzi, John Macomber, Scotty O'Donoghue, Jon Smith, Mike Tucker, Andrew Zitnik
Lafayette: Mike Boles, Brad Bormann, Greg Kessel, Jake McTighe, Mark Ross, Alex White
Lehigh: Sergio Fernandez-Soto, Kyle Lechner

Ross was the 2013 Patriot League Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and one of six Hampshire Honor Society members that made the Academic All-Patriot League Team in the fall. Smith, Kyle Sullivan, Fess, Macomber and Bormann also made the Academic All-Patriot League squad for their work in the classroom and on the field. Twenty-four of the honorees were also named to the Patriot League Academic Honor Roll in January for achieving at least a 3.2 grade-point average in the fall semester.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include being a starter or a significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university, achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.



The 2014 class of 838 student-athletes represents a new high water mark for members in the Hampshire Honor Society which began in 2007, eclipsing the old record mark by 117 student-athletes.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF's current National Scholar-Athlete program greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. The program further strengthens the organization's leadership role in encouraging academic performance by the student-athletes who play football at the more than 700 college and universities with football programs nationwide. The initiative has honored 4,927 student-athletes since its inception, and the program has experienced growth every year in either members or school participation since its launch in 2007.

For the full release from the NFF, go here