Patriot Leaguers Honored by College Sports Journal

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Michael Nebrich added another accolade with his spot on the College Sports Journal FCS All-America Team.
Michael Nebrich added another accolade with his spot on the College Sports Journal FCS All-America Team.

Jan. 27, 2014

College Sports Journal

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - The final honors of the 2013 FCS season were announced on Monday by College Sports Journal with a handful of Patriot Leaguers recognized, including Fordham's Joe Moorhead as the CSJ National Coach of the Year.

College Sports Journal also honored the top 63 players in FCS in its 2013 All-America Team, with Fordham juniors Michael Nebrich (QB), Sam Ajala (WR) and Dan Light (TE) making the squad from the Patriot League along with Lehigh senior wide receiver Lee Kurfis. A group of 42 honorable mention selections included Fordham senior running back Carlton Koonce and junior linebacker Stephen Hodge.

Lafayette quarterback Drew Reed and Bucknell running back C.J. Williams made the second team on the College Sports Journal FCS All-Freshmen squad announced earlier.

Moorhead was also recognized as the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Regional Co-Coach of the Year and was one of five finalist for the Liberty Mutual FCS Coach of the Year honor. He was an Eddie Robinson Award (FCS Coach of the Year) finalist for the second straight season as Fordham went 12-2 and advanced to the second round of the postseason. The Rams came in the top 10 of both national polls following the season, ranking No. 9 in The Sports Network top 25 and No. 10 in the FCS Coaches Poll.

Fordham's prolific offense propelled the Rams to a 12-2 record and the second round of the FCS playoffs, and Nebrich, Ajala and Light each earn praise for their contributions to the attack. Nebrich finished the year with Patriot League single-season records for passing yardage (4,380), passing touchdowns (35), total offense (4,893), touchdowns responsible for (44), completion percentage (73.5) and passing efficiency (171.3), and his 353 completions were just five off the League record. Nebrich was named Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year and finished fifth in the Walter Payton Award voting. Ajala was his top receiver with 93 catches for a Patriot League single-season record 1,646 yards and 14 touchdowns. The first-team All-Patriot League pick came in fourth in League history in receptions and tied for second in touchdown catches, and was named a second-team All-American by both Sports Network and AP. Light hauled in 66 receptions for 588 yards and two touchdowns, with 22 receptions for 190 yards in Fordham's two playoff games.

Kurfis enjoyed an outstanding season for the Mountain Hawks, setting a school record and placing second in Patriot League history with 99 receptions and coming in fourth place in League annals with 1,351 receiving yards. Kurfis also caught nine touchdowns, and led the FCS with 122.8 receiving yards per game. He was one of two receivers to be named a finalist for the Walter Payton Award as the Most Outstanding Player in FCS, and was named a first-team All-American by Sports Network and second-team by AP to close out his career.

Reed was named the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS National Freshman Performer of the Year after completing a single-season school record 73%(132-182) of his passes for 1,887 yards, 17 touchdowns and just five interceptions in eight games. Williams ran for 899 yards and eight touchdowns in his debut season at Bucknell to earn second-team All-Patriot League honors.

Koonce finished with 1,462 rushing yards and nine touchdowns in his senior season for the Rams, while Hodge was named Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year while finishing with 123 tackles, 16 tackles for loss, five sacks and five forced fumbles.

To read the full releases on both teams, visit College Sports Journal