Five Patriot Leaguers Named to FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

Colgate's Chris Looney

Jan. 4, 2013

FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team
College Sports Journal FCS All-Academic Team

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Five Patriot League student-athletes were honored for their work on the field and in the classroom with a spot on the 15th annual Football Championship Subdivision Athletic Directors Association (FCS ADA) Academic All-Star Team presented by KP Sports on Thursday.

Colgate senior Chris Looney was one of the honorees and also is one of six finalists in the running for the 12th Annual FCS ADA $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship presented by KP Sports. Two student-athletes receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention from June 13-15 in Orlando. Postgraduate scholarship winners will be announced in late March.

Joining Looney on the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team were Fordham senior placekicker Patrick Murray, Lafayette juniors wide receiver Mark Ross and offensive lineman Brad Bormann, and Lehigh senior running back Zach Barket.

In addition to their honor from the FCS ADA, Looney, Ross and Barket were also named to the inaugural College Sports Journal FCS All-Academic Team on Thursday. They were joined on that list by Lafayette senior fullback Greg Kessel and Lehigh senior wide receiver Ryan Spadola.

Looney and Barket receive the honors after being named Capital One Academic All-America picks last month. Looney, the 2012 Patriot League Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year, was named to the first team while Barket made the second team. Looney was also named an initial nominee for the 2012 All State AFCA Good Works Team prior to the season.

Each of the seven student-athletes who earned academic honors on Thursday were also selected to the Academic All-Patriot League Team and Capital One Academic All-District squad in the fall.

It is the fourth straight season where at least three Patriot Leaguers made the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team. A special Review Committee of Football Championship Subdivision athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Ron Strollo, Youngstown State (chair); Ken Beazer, Southern Utah; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State; Marilyn McNeil, Monmouth; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State. The full squad is available here

The College Sports Journal squad can be found here. The College Sports Journal team was selected by a panel of FCS experts that include the co-owners of College Sports Journal, David Coulson and Chuck Burton. Specific input from FCS conferences, conference and national all-academic teams and nominations, and other academic sources also were used in selection.