Three Patriot Leaguers Named to FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

PATRIOTLEAGUE.ORG Fordham's Brett Biestek is one of seven finalists for the FCS ADA's $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship.
Fordham's Brett Biestek is one of seven finalists for the FCS ADA's $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarship.

Jan. 3, 2014

FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Three Patriot League seniors were selected to the 16th annual FCS Athletic Directors Association Academic All-Star Team on Friday, with Fordham's Brett Biestek also joining six others nationally as a finalist for the 13th Annual FCS ADA's $5,000 Postgraduate Scholarships.

Two student-athletes will receive postgraduate scholarships during the Association's annual membership meeting held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Fla., June 9-12.

Biestek carries a 3.78 cumulative grade-point average as a Finance major at Fordham, and earned first-team Capital One Academic All-America honors in December. He finished with 58 tackles, 14.5 tackles for loss, five sacks and three fumble recoveries for a Fordham team that advanced to the second round of the FCS playoffs.

Biestek was joined on the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team by a pair of wide receivers, Lafayette's Mark Ross and Holy Cross' Mike Fess. All three were named to the both the All-Patriot League Team and Academic All-Patriot League Team in November.

Ross holds a 3.63 cumulative grade-point average as an Economics major and earned second-team Capital One Academic All-American recognition. He was also named to last season's FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team. Ross finished his career with school records and marks in the Patriot League career top 10 in receptions (198), receiving yards (2,811) and touchdowns (27).

Fess led the Crusaders with 75 receptions for 893 yards and nine touchdowns in 2013, and totaled 209 catches for 2,211 yards and 15 scores in his career. He finished his collegiate career as Holy Cross' all-time leader in receptions, while standing fourth in receiving yards. In the classroom, he owns a cumulative grade point average of 3.37 with a major in History.



It is the fifth straight season where at least three Patriot Leaguers made the FCS ADA Academic All-Star Team. A special Review Committee of FCS athletics directors was responsible for selecting the all-star team and scholarship finalists. Completing this task were Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State (chair); Ken Beazer, Southern Utah; Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State; Ron Strollo, Youngstown State; and Jeff Tingey, Idaho State.

Football players from all FCS institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees were required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or key player with legitimate athletics credentials. He must have reached his second year of athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his designated position.

The 43 members of the Football Championship Subdivision Academic All-Star Team are listed here

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 21st year, the FCS Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance the level of football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit