Pair of Patriot Leaguers Honored by

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Bucknell's Cameron Ayers
Bucknell's Cameron Ayers

April 4, 2014

Kyle Macy Award | Lefty Driesell Award

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Bucknell senior Cameron Ayers and Lehigh freshman Tim Kempton, the Patriot League Men's Basketball Player and Rookie of the Year respectively, each received national recognition from this week.

Ayers was selected to the Lefty Driesell All-Defensive Team, while Kempton was named to the Kyle Macy Freshman All-America Team. Both Ayers and Kempton are now eligible for the individual award from their teams which will be announced on Friday in Dallas at the Awards Banquet as part of Final Four weekend.

Ayers was a three-time All-Patriot League selection, earning First-Team honors in each of the last two seasons and Second-Team recognition as a sophomore. This year he became the sixth Bison to claim the Patriot League Player of the Year award, and he was also named to the NABC All-Region Team.

This season Ayers ranked third in the Patriot League in scoring at 15.4 points per game, and his 16.2 average in league games ranked No. 2. He shot 40.2 percent from 3-point range and 85.8 percent from the free-throw line.

Ayers was also one of the league's top defensive guards this season on a team that allowed only 64.1 points per game.

Kempton averaged 13.0 points per game (second on the team) and a team-leading 7.1 rebounds in his rookie campaign for Lehigh, becoming the school's fourth Patriot League Rookie of the Year in the last eight seasons. He finished ninth in the League in scoring and third in rebounding. Kempton was Patriot League Rookie of the Week five times in 2013-14 including three straight weeks in late January through early February. He shot 51.5 percent from the field for the season (159-of-309).

The Lefty Driesell award is named in honor of coaching legend Lefty Driesell, who is the only person to ever win 100 games at four different Division I schools. He is best known for his time at Maryland, leading the program to the National Invitational Tournament title in 1972 and its second-ever ACC Tournament Championship in 1984. He finished his career at Maryland with a 348-159 record and concluded his career with an impressive 786-394 mark.

The Kyle Macy award is presented annually to the top freshman in Division I college basketball. The 1975 Indiana "Mr. Basketball" played his freshman season at Purdue University. Macy averaged 13.8 points a game as a freshman, while leading the Boilermakers in free throws, shooting .859 percent from the line on the season. He started in 25 of 27 games, helping them to a 16-11 season record. After playing his freshman year at Purdue, Macy transferred to the University of Kentucky in 1976. He started every game for the Wildcats in 1977. A three-time All-America and three-time All-SEC player, Macy was a member of Kentucky's 1978 National Championship team. In his senior year of 1979-80, he became the first Kentucky player ever to be named consensus Southeastern Conference Player of the Year.

The full list of candidates are available from for the Kyle Macy Award and Lefty Driesell Award. Additional awards will also be presented at Friday's banquet, with American Head Coach Mike Brennan is up for the Joe B. Hall Award as the top first-year coach and Hugh Durham Award as the top mid-major coach and Boston University's Joe Jones a candidate for the Ben Jobe Award as the top minority coach and the Skip Prosser "Man of the Year" Award.