Wilson & Omlid Earn Patriot League Honors

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Kyle Wilson led the league at 18.2 points per game.
Kyle Wilson led the league at 18.2 points per game.

March 3, 2014

CENTER VALLEY, Pa.  – The conference’s top scorer, Army sophomore Kyle Wilson, has been named first-team All-Patriot League in a vote by the league’s coaches. Wilson was a unanimous choice, getting all nine possible first-team votes. The Mission Viejo, Calif., native averaged 18.2 points per game overall and in league play, pacing the conference in both categories. In addition to Wilson, plebe Tanner Omlid was named to the Patriot League All-Rookie Team.

Wilson, last season’s unanimous choice as Patriot League Rookie of the Year, earned his first All-Patriot League certificate. In addition to his league leading scoring average, ranked among the Patriot League’s top 10 in free throw percentage (8th, .786),  three-point field goal percentage (4th, .438) and three-point field goals made (6th, 2.1). In conference games, he was third in three-point field goal percentage (.493) and eighth in three-pointers per game (2.1).

Army’s first yearling to earn first-team All-Patriot League honors since 1994 (Mark Lueking), Wilson, who has scored 20-or-more points 15 times this season, finished the regular season with 529 points which ranks 14th on the Black Knights’ single-season list. He scored a school-record 328 points during conference games, posting the program’s fifth-best scoring average during Patriot League play. His 932 career points are the most by a sophomore since Gary Winton scored 1,022 points from 1974-76.

Wilson’s first-team selection marks the first time in program history that different players have earned the distinction in consecutive seasons. Ella Ellis, a 2013 graduate, was a two-time first-team performer in 2012 and 2013. Wilson is only the third Army player to have both Patriot League All-Rookie and first-team All-Patriot League honors on their resume.

Omlid made his presence felt on both ends of the floor, setting the Black Knights’ single-season record during the regular season with 57 steals. He was fourth overall and led all Patriot League freshmen in that category with 2.0 swipes per game. His 2.1 steals per game during league play ranked fourth. He tied for16th in the league and was third among rookies with 4.3 rebounds per game. Offensively, Omlid is the team’s fifth-leading scorer with 6.0 points per game. He is fourth on the team with 24 three-pointers and reached double figures six times. Omlid is the only Army rookie to play in all 29 games and is the Black Knights’ only newcomer to start during the 2013-14 season.



Tanner Omlid has an Army record 57 steals.

The Monmouth, Ore., native’s selection marks the fourth straight season Army has had at least one player on the conference’s all-rookie squad. The Black Knights are one of only two teams to accomplish that feat. Omlid is the fifth plebe to earn the distinction during head coach Zach Spiker’s five seasons which is tied for the most in the Patriot League during that span.

Army finished the regular season 14-15 overall and 10-8 in the Patriot League. The Black Knights’ conference win total set a program standard, while it marked the first time in school history that the team put together back-to-back winning records in conference play.

The Black Knights are the No. 5 seed in the Patriot League Tournament and will travel to No. 4 Bucknell for the quarterfinals on Wednesday, March 5. Tip-off at Sojka Pavilion is set for 7 p.m.

Player of the Year: Cameron Ayers, Bucknell
Defensive Player of the Year: Tony Wroblicky, American
Rookie of the Year: Tim Kempton, Lehigh
Coach of the Year:  Mike Brennan, American

First-Team All-Patriot League
Cameron Ayers, Bucknell*
Dave Dudzinski, Holy Cross*
Maurice Watson Jr., Boston University
Kyle Wilson, Army*
Tony Wroblicky, American

*Unanimous first-team choice

Second-Team All-Patriot League
Murphy Burnatowski, Colgate
Darius Gardner, American
D.J. Irving, Boston University
Mackey McKnight, Lehigh
Jesse Reed, American

Third-Team All-Patriot League
Dylon Cormier, Loyola
Chris Hass, Bucknell
Seth Hinrichs, Lafayette
Malcolm Miller, Holy Cross
John Schoof, American

Cedric Hankerson, Boston University
Tim Kempton, Lehigh
Nick Lindner, Lafayette
Tanner Omlid, Army
Austin Price, Lehigh
Anthony Thompson, Holy Cross

*Six players due to tie in voting