Army pitcher Chris Rowley named semifinalist for Dick Howser trophy

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Army pitcher Chris Rowley
Army pitcher Chris Rowley

May 18, 2012

Courtesy of Army Athletics

DALLAS -- The national recognition continues to pile up for Army junior starting pitcher Chris Rowley, who was named one of 35 semifinalists for the 2012 Dick Howser Trophy on Friday. The prestigious award, which is handed out annually to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

Rowley, who becomes the first Army player to be named a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, was placed on the watch list for the 2012 National Pitcher of the Year award last month. The junior right-hander was also selected as the Patriot League Pitcher of the Year and earned a spot on the all-conference first team.

Rowley (11-0, 1.79 ERA) is one of just 10 starting pitchers among the 35 semifinalists. He leads the nation with 11 victories, ranks second in WHIP (0.78), stands sixth in hits allowed per nine innings (5.36), is eighth with six complete games and lists 24th with a 1.79 earned run average.

The third-year hurler has 71 strikeouts in 85.2 innings pitched over 13 starts. He has yielded just nine extra base hits (all doubles) this season, and opponents are batting a mere .173 against him.

The Duluth, Ga., native has already established Academy single-season records for wins (11), shutouts (five), consecutive shutouts (four), consecutive scoreless innings (29) and consecutive innings without giving up an earned run (29). Rowley, who was named Patriot League Pitcher of the Week a record-tying four times this season, is quickly closing in on Army's single-season mark for innings pitched (90.0).

Rowley was nearly unhittable versus Patriot League foes during the regular season. He fired four consecutive complete-game shutouts to open the conference season, and finished the league slate with a perfect 5-0 mark and a microscopic 0.51 ERA. He allowed just two runs on 12 hits and three walks over 35 innings, while striking out 33 batters. Conference opponents batted a paltry .103 against him during the regular season.

This is the 26th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, Neb., on Friday, June 15, the opening day of the 2012 College World Series.

The Dick Howser Trophy is given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987 and is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

Army (39-12) returns to action on Sunday and Monday (May 20-21) when the Black Knights host the Patriot League Championship Series. The program needs to win the best-of-three series in order to secure a berth in the upcoming NCAA Regionals (June 1-4).


Name, Position, School 
Mark Appel, SP, Stanford 
Robert Benincasa, RP, Florida State 
Sean Bignall, OF, Arkansas-Little Rock 
Trent Blank, SP, Baylor 
Austin Elkins, 2B, Dallas Baptist 
Goose Kallunki, 1B, Utah Valley 
Marty Gantt, OF, College of Charleston 
Marco Gonzales, UT, Gonzaga 
Andrew Heaney, SP, Oklahoma State 
Brock Hebert, 2B, Southeastern Louisiana 
D.J. Hicks, 1B, UCF 
Daniel Kassouf, DH, Appalachian State 
Stefan Lopez, RP, Southeastern Louisiana 
Michael Lorenzen, UT, Cal State Fullerton 
Josh Ludy, C, Baylor 
Luke Maile, C, Kentucky 
Jamodrick McGruder, 2B, Texas Tech 
Trenton Moses, 3B, Southeast Missouri 
Chris O'Grady, RP, George Mason 
D.J. Petersen, 3B, New Mexico 
Nick Petree, SP, Missouri State 
Kevin Plawecki, C, Purdue 
Danny Poma, OF, Hofstra 
James Ramsey, OF, Florida State 
Matthew Reckling, SP, Rice 
Carlos Rodon, SP, NC State 
Chris Rowley, SP, ARMY 
Raph Rhymes, OF, LSU 
Zach Stephens, 1B, Tennessee Tech 
Chris Stratton, SP, Mississippi State 
Ross Stripling, SP, Texas A&M 
Michael Wacha, SP, Texas A&M 
Michael Wagner, RP, San Diego 
Alex Yarbrough, 2B, Ole Miss 
Mike Zunino, C, Florida