Navy men repeat, Bucknell women claim League title, too

Navy's Andrew Hanko

Oct. 31, 2009

Men's Final ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

Women's Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

Hamilton, N.Y. -- A streak ends and another one begins as the Navy men won second straight title and the Bucknell women held off defending champion Navy at the 2009 Patriot League Cross Country Championships Saturday at Harry Lang Course in Hamilton, N.Y. 

The Navy men, led by individual champion Andrew Hanko (26:17.9), placed seven runners in the top 14 to score 34 points and secure the title. American finished second with 57 points and Bucknell (78), Lehigh (98) and Army (107) rounded out the top five. Holy Cross (160) was sixth, Colgate (181) seventh and Lafayette (251) eighth. 

Bucknell won the women's title without placing a runner in the top five, scoring 65 points to edge out Army (81) and Navy (87). 

Colgate, led by the women's individual champion, sophomore Elise DeRoo (22:01.7) finished fourth with 114 points and Holy Cross was fifth with 135. Lafayette (138), Lehigh (143) and American (145) rounded out the standings. 

Navy freshmen Dean Black and Brigid Byrne were named the Rookie of the Meet for their respective races. Black finished in 26:41.0, placing 10th, while Byrne was ninth in 23:22.5.

Navy men's coach Al Cantello and Bucknell women's coach Kevin Donner were named the League's Coaches of the Year.

Hanko was named to the First-Team All-League squad along with teammate Cody Rome. Joining them were Lehigh's Evans Kosgei, American's Craig Brown and Colin Eustis and Bucknell's Andrew Huebner and Kevin McGoldrick. Black was named to the second team, along with teammates Chris Horel, Ken Bunnell, Russ Hughes and James Pearson. American's Jeff Brannigan and Lehigh's Doug Ridyard also were named to the second team. 

Joining DeRoo on the First-Team All-League squad were Holy Cross' Paige Sutherland, Lehigh's Katherine Pierce, Army's Courtney Clement, American's Octavia Rinehardt and Greta Wicklund and Bucknell's Stephanie Fulmer.

Byrne was named to the second team along with Bucknell's Sarah Moniz and Alexa Griffiths, Army's Ashley Morgan and Chelsea Prahl, Lafayette's Sarah Welsh-Huggins, Colgate's Julie Tarallo.

Men's Final Standings
1. Navy   34
2. American   57
3. Bucknell   78
4. Lehigh   98
5. Army   107
6. Holy Cross   160
7. Colgate   181
8. Lafayette   251

Women's Final Standings
1. Bucknell   65 
2. Army 81
3. Navy 87
4. Colgate 114
5. Holy Cross 135
6. Lafayette 138
7. Lehigh 143
8. American 145

Men's Individual Awards

Outstanding Runner of the Meet: Navy junior Andrew Hanko

Rookie of the Meet: Navy freshman Dean Black

Coach of the Meet: Navy's Al Cantello

Women's Individual Awards

Outstanding Runner of the Meet: Colgate sophomore Elise DeRoo

Rookie of the Meet: Navy freshman Brigid Byrne

Coach of the Meet: Bucknell's Kevin Donner

First-Team All-Patriot League

Men: Andrew Hanko, Navy; Evans Kosgei, Lehigh; Cody Rome, Navy; Craig Brown American; Andrew Huebner, Bucknell; Colin Eustis, American; Kevin McGoldrick, Bucknell.

Women: Elise DeRoo, Colgate; Paige Sutherland, Holy Cross; Katherine Pierce, Lehigh; Courtney Clement, Army; Octavia Rinehardt, American; Stephanie Fulmer, Bucknell; Greta Wicklund, American.

Second-Team All-Patriot League

Men: Chris Horel, Navy; Jeff Brannigan, American; Dean Black, Navy; Doug Ridyard, Lehigh; Ken Bunnell, Navy; Russ Hughes, Navy; James Pearson, Navy.

Women: Sarah Moniz, Bucknell; Brigid Byrne, Navy; Ashley Morgan, Army, Sarah Welsh-Huggins, Lafayette; Julie Tarallo, Colgate; Alexa Griffiths, Bucknell;  Chelsea Prahl, Army.