Lehigh Men, Navy Women Claim Patriot League Cross Country Championships

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Navy's Annie-Norah Beveridge won the Patriot League women's cross country race.
Navy's Annie-Norah Beveridge won the Patriot League women's cross country race.

Oct. 27, 2012

Patriot League Cross Country Championships page
Men's Results
Women's Results

HAMILTON, N.Y.- The first Patriot League championship of the 2012-13 season produced drama and domination, as the Lehigh men held off Navy to win their first-ever Men's Cross Country Championship while the Navy women blew away the field to take home the Women's Cross Country Championship for the second year in a row at Colgate University's Harry. H. Lang Course on Saturday.

The Mountain Hawks scored 54 points to come in two ahead of the Mids, who had won the last four Patriot League titles, on the men's side. Lehigh was led by a trio of first-team All-Patriot League selections as Jimmy Miller finished fourth in the race, Ryan Mahalsky came in fifth and Tyler Mueller placed seventh. Lehigh Head Coach Todd Etters won his first Patriot League Coach of the Year award.

There was no dramatic finish in the women's race, as Navy's Annie-Norah Beveridge continued her outstanding season by winning the 6,000-meter contest with a time of 21:45.4, nearly 20 seconds ahead of teammate and second-place finisher Brigid Byrne. Freshman Kelley Robinson also came in sixth to earn first-team All-Patriot League honors as Navy was 22 points ahead of second-place Bucknell. The Mids win their fourth Patriot League title, all coming in the last six years. Karen Boyle was named Patriot League Coach of the Year for the fourth time, all coming in the championship seasons.

It was also a good day for the host, as Colgate senior Chris Johnson repeated as the Patriot League men's individual champion by running the 8,000-meter race in a time of 25:11.0, more than 17 seconds ahead of American's Mark Allen in second place. Colgate's Olivia Brackett placed fifth in the women's race with a time of 22:49.7 to earn the Rookie of the Year award. Navy's Steve Schroeder was Rookie of the Year in the men's race by placing 18th in a time of 26:14.7.

Following Lehigh (54 points) and Navy (56) in the men's race were American (74), Army (83), Bucknell (120), Colgate (130), Holy Cross (198) and Lafayette (245).

Bucknell's John Dugan came in third in the men's race, with Navy's John Sweeney in sixth place. They joined Johnson, Allen and the aforementioned Lehigh trio with first-team All-Patriot League honors. Navy's Christopher Galvin and Robert Patterson, Army's Ricardo Gallindo and Kendall Ward, American's Nick Reagan and Mark Leininger and Lehigh's Sam Bernitt all earned second-team All-Patriot League distinction.

In the women's race, Navy (46) and Bucknell (68) were out in front of Army (78), Lehigh (84), Colgate (147), Lafayette and Holy Cross each with 168, and American (171).

Navy led the way with Beveridge, Byrne and Robinson as first-team All-Patriot League selections. They were joined on the squad by Army's Lisa Junta in third place, Lehigh's Julia Perry in fourth, Brackett in fifth and Bucknell's Caroline Tolli in seventh. Second-team All-Patriot League honors went to Bucknell's Deanna Godby and Katie Jessee, Lehigh's Ingrid Simon and Jessica Kendzor, Army's Mary Prakel and Rachel King and Lafayette's Rose Willey.

Lehigh is just the fifth school to win the men's cross country race. Army has won seven titles, Bucknell and American have six each and Navy has won four. Navy's four women's cross country titles put the Mids behind only Bucknell (8) and Army (5) in Patriot League history.

Johnson became the eighth repeat individual champion in the men's race, following Navy's Andrew Hanko who did it in 2009 and 2010. He is Colgate's second champion, as Ray Appenheimer also repeated in 1992 and 1993. Beveridge is Navy's third women's individual champion, and second in a row after former teammate Jess Palacio won last year's race.

Schroeder is Navy's sixth Men's Rookie of the Year in the last seven seasons, while Brackett is the second Women's Rookie of the Year from Colgate after Stacy Marion won the individual title as a freshman in 2007.

Patriot League cross country teams will continue their seasons with the NCAA Regionals on Nov. 9.

Full results are available online for both the Men's and Women's Patriot League Cross Country Championships. A listing of individual award winners and All-Patriot League recipients is included below.

Patriot League Men's Cross Country Award Winners
Individual Champion (Runner of the Year): Chris Johnson, Colgate (Sr.)
Rookie of the Year: Steve Schroeder, Navy (Fr.)
Coach of the Year: Todd Etters, Lehigh
First-Team All-Patriot League: Chris Johnson, Colgate (Sr.); Mark Allen, American (Sr.); John Dugan, Bucknell (So.); Jimmy Miller, Lehigh (Jr.); Ryan Mahalsky, Lehigh (So.); John Sweeney, Navy (So.); Tyler Mueller, Lehigh (Jr.)
Second-Team All-Patriot League: Christopher Galvin, Navy (Sr.); Ricardo Galindo, Army (Jr.); Robert Patterson, Navy (Jr.); Nick Reagan, American (So.); Sam Bernitt, Lehigh (Jr.); Mark Leininger, American (Sr.); Kendall Ward, Army (Jr.)

Patriot League Women's Cross Country Award Winners
Individual Champion (Runner of the Year): Annie-Norah Beveridge, Navy (So.)
Rookie of the Year: Olivia Brackett, Colgate (Fr.)
Coach of the Year: Karen Boyle, Navy
First-Team All-Patriot League: Annie-Norah Beveridge, Navy (So.); Brigid Byrne, Navy (Sr.); Lisa Junta, Army (So.); Julia Perry, Lehigh (Sr.); Olivia Brackett, Colgate (Fr.); Kelley Robinson, Navy (Fr.); Caroline Tolli, Bucknell (Sr.)
Second-Team All-Patriot League: Mary Prakel, Army (Sr.); Rose Willey, Lafayette (Jr.); Deanna Godby, Bucknell (Fr.); Ingrid Simon, Lehigh (So.); Rachel King, Army (So.); Katie Jessee, Bucknell (So.); Jessica Kendzor, Lehigh (Jr.)