Patriot League Announces Women's Track and Field Academic Honor Roll

Navy's Erica Ziel

June 24, 2009

Complete Release Get Acrobat Reader

Center Valley, Pa. - Navy's Erica Ziel, the 2009 Patriot League Women's Indoor and Outdoor Track & Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, is one of 166 women's track & field student-athletes named to this year's Patriot League Academic Honor Roll.

Ziel was the fourth female student-athlete to be named Cross Country, Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete in an academic year. Fordham's Lauren Gubicza (1991-92, '92-'93), Bucknell's Julie Sweitzer (1998-99) and American's Keira Carlstrom (2003-04) also accomplished the feat. Ziel completed the spring term of her junior year at Navy with a 3.80 grade-point average while majoring in Oceanography. Her teammate, junior Kayla Sax, is one of ten student-athletes who earned a 4.0 grade-point average for the spring term. Sax, a Richland, Wash., native, earned a 4.0 in Systems Engineering.

American junior Greta Wicklund earned a 4.0 in International Relations and Journalism. Bucknell freshman Kelly Desharnais earned a 4.0 in Biomedical Engineering and three Bucknell seniors join her on the list as Megan Hathaway compiled a 4.0 in Sociology, Jessica Hibbert earned a 4.0 in Mechanical Engineering and Caroline Strunk worked for a perfect GPA in Psychology. Margaret Mallory, a sophomore at Holy Cross, earned a 4.0 in English, while senior teammate Kelly Shaw was perfect this spring in Spanish and Economics. Jillian Randolph and Theresa Fromm, Marketing majors at Lehigh, also earned 4.0s for their work in the spring.

Bucknell paced all Patriot League schools with 53 student-athletes making the Academic Honor Roll. Holy Cross tallied 45 student-athletes for Honor Roll selection, while Lehigh placed 21 on the list.

To be eligible for the Academic Honor Roll, a student-athlete must earn a 3.20 grade-point average in the spring semester and be awarded a varsity letter in one of the Patriot League's winter or spring championship sports. The criteria for awarding varsity letters are different at each institution.