Loyola Maryland Claims Patriot League Men's Golf Championship



April 27, 2014

Team Leaderboard | Individual Leaderboard

WEST POINT, N.Y. - Loyola University Maryland placed three players in the top five on the leaderboard and went on to win the Patriot League Men's Golf Championship on Sunday at West Point Golf Course.

Loyola took a five-shot lead into the final 18 holes, and went on to shoot the best round of the day to finish the tournament at 861 (287-283-291). Host Army came in second place at 871 (295-280-296), while the rest of the standings featured defending champion Lehigh (896), Navy (900), Bucknell (902), Colgate (906), Lafayette (926) and Holy Cross (932).

Down by one stroke entering the final round, Army freshman Peter Kim ran away with the individual title by shooting a 70 on Sunday to finish at 1-under 209 for the tournament and tie for the second-best score in the championship's history. Kim had the best round of the weekend with a 66 in Saturday's afternoon session. He wins both the Most Outstanding Golfer and Most Outstanding Rookie award, becoming the first in the Patriot League to claim both of those distinctions in the same year. Kim is Army's third individual winner in the last four seasons.

Loyola earns the Patriot League's automatic bid to the NCAA Men's Golf Regionals, while Kim will go as an individual by winning the League Tournament.

Navy's August Jonas finished in second place, five shots back of Kim, with a 4-over 214. Loyola filled out the rest of the top five on the leaderboard as Jimmy Dengler and Matt Oshrine came in at 5-over to tie for third and Brendan Lemp was at 6-over in fifth. The top-five finishers constituted the first-team All-Patriot League squad.



Lehigh's Carlos Kim came in sixth place at 7-over, while Army's Justin Paglia was two shots back in seventh place. Lehigh's Harley Abrams, Lafayette's Jared Mactas and Army's Marcus Plunkett all tied for eighth to make the second-team All-Patriot League squad along with Carlos Kim and Paglia.

Loyola's Chris Baloga was named Patriot League Coach of the Year for leading the Greyhounds to the title in their first season.

For more information on the entire tournament, visit Patriot League Men's Golf Championship Central

Patriot League Men's Golf Awards
Most Outstanding Golfer: Peter Kim, Army
Most Outstanding Rookie: Peter Kim, Army
Coach of the Year: Chris Baloga, Loyola

First-Team All-Patriot League: Peter Kim (Army), August Jonas (Navy), Matt Oshrine (Loyola), Jimmy Dengler (Loyola), Brendan Lemp (Loyola)

Second-Team All-Patriot League: Carlos Kim (Lehigh), Justin Pagila (Army), Jared Mactas (Lafayette), Marcus Plunkett (Army), Harley Abrams (Lehigh)