Patriot League History

1986 - The Colonial League is founded and begins full round-robin play in football only; Lafayette College associate professor Alan Childs is named the Executive Director.

1986 - Holy Cross finishes the season at the nation's number one ranked team.

1987 - Colgate's Kenny Gamble wins the inaugural Walter Payton Award as the nation's top FCS (formerly 1-AA) football player

1989 - Carl Ullrich is appointed as the first full-time Executive Director.

1990 - Colonial League changes its name to Patriot League.

1990-91 - Patriot League becomes an all-sport conference, sponsoring 22 sports, 11 for women and 11 for men. Membership includes Bucknell University, Colgate University, Fordham University, College of the Holy Cross, Lafayette College, Lehigh University and the United States Military Academy.

1991 - The United States Naval Academy joins the League as a full member.

1993 - Constance (Connie) H. Hurlbut is named Executive Director of the League, becoming the first woman and youngest person to be selected as the leader of an NCAA Division I conference.

1995 - Fordham University resigns its full membership but remains in the League as an associate member in football.

1996 - Change in League policy adopted to allow basketball scholarships beginning with the class entering in the fall of 1998.

1997 - Creation of League basketball television package, which grows to 12 games on DIRECTV and ESPN, beginning with the 2002-03 season.

1999 - Carolyn Schlie Femovich is selected as the fourth Executive Director of the League.

2000-01 - Patriot League celebrates its 10th Anniversary; League policy regarding merit aid expanded to include all sports except football, beginning with the class entering in the fall of 2001.

2001 - American University joins the League as a full member; Georgetown University joins as an associate member in football.

2003 - U.S. Naval Academy increases participation from 12 sports to 18 by joining Patriot League in men's lacrosse, men's swimming & diving and all cross country and track & field programs.

December 18, 2003 - Colgate's Jamaal Branch wins the Walter Payton Award as the nation's top FCS (formerly 1-AA) football player

2004 - Women's rowing is added as the Patriot League's 24th sport.

2005 - Patriot League celebrates 20th season for the sport of football.

2007 - Patriot League unveils broadband package for men and women's basketball. Nearly 100 regular-season and a dozen Patriot League Tournament games are streamed.

2008 - United States Naval Academy adds women's lacrosse as its 19th Patriot League sport; Patriot League receives a women's basketball grant from the NCAA.

2009 - United States Naval Academy adds women's tennis as its 20th Patriot League sport; Patriot League receives a women's basketball grant for the second year in a row; Patriot League enters into agreement with CBS College Sports Network to televise regular and postseason men and women's basketball games as well as men's lacrosse tournament.

2010 - Massachusetts Institute of Technology joins as an associate member in women's rowing.

2010-11 - Patriot League celebrates 20th anniversary as an all-sport conference.

2011 - Patriot League marks its 25th anniversary season in football in the fall.

2012 - Patriot League Council of Presidents announces the addition of women's golf as the League's 24th sport, with the first championship set for the spring of 2013.

July 1, 2013 - Boston University and Loyola University Maryland officially join the Patriot League as its ninth and 10th full members.

July 8, 2013 - Georgetown expands its associate membership to include women's rowing, effective with the 2013-14 season.

August 2013 - The Patriot League Digital Network, which includes both live event coverage and video on demand, launched in partnership with Campus Insiders.

November 2013 - American University's women's volleyball team advances to the Sweet 16 after two wins in the NCAA Tournament.

February 24, 2014 - United States Military Academy adds women's lacrosse as its 20th Patriot League sport. The Black Knights begin play in the 2015-16 academic year.

March 24, 2014 - Loyola Maryland becomes the first Patriot League men's lacrosse program to earn the number one ranking in both the USILA and media polls.

July 24, 2014 - Richmond joins the Patriot League as an Associate Member in Women's Golf.

July 17, 2014 - Patriot League enters into multi-year agreement with American Sports Network.

December 15, 2014 - Fordham's Chase Edmonds named winner of the Jerry Rice Award as the nation's top FCS freshman football player.

May 10, 2015 - Loyola Maryland's women's lacrosse team advances to the NCAA quarterfinal round.

June 8, 2015 - Jennifer Heppel is named the fifth executive director in Patriot League history.

June 15, 2015 - Patriot League announces long-term agreement with CBS Sports Network.

History of Patriot League Executive Directors

Alan Childs
Dr. Alan Childs
1986 - 1989
Carl Ulrich
Mr. Carl Ulrich
1989 - 1993
Connie Hurlbut
Connie Hurlbut
1993 - 1999
Carolyn Schlie Femovich
Carolyn Schlie Femovich
1999 - Present

Patriot League Logos

Membership History

InstitutionCurrent AffiliationYear JoinedYears Competed
American UniversityFull Member20012001-present
Boston UniversityFull Member20132013-present
Bucknell University *Full Member19861986-present
Colgate University *Full Member19861986-present
Davidson CollegeNone19871987-1988 (Football)
Fairfield UniversityNone19961996-2003 (Field Hockey)
Fordham UniversityAssociate Member19901990-1994 (Full Member); 1990-present (Football)
Georgetown UniversityAssociate Member20012001-present (Football); 2013-present (Rowing)
Hobart CollegeNone20002000-2004 (Men's Lacrosse)
College of the Holy Cross *Full Member19861986-present
Lafayette College *Full Member19861986-present
Lehigh University *Full Member19861986-present
Loyola University MarylandFull Member20132013-present
Massachusetts Institute of TechnologyAssociate Member20102010-present (Rowing)
University of RichmondAssociate Member20142014-present (Women's Golf)
Towson UniversityNone19971997-2003 (Football)
Ursinus CollegeNone19961996-2001 (Field Hockey)
U.S. Military AcademyFull Member19901990-present
U.S. Naval AcademyFull Member19911991-present
Villanova UniversityNone19991999-2006 (Women's Lacrosse)

* - Patriot League charter member