Colgate Claims Lead in Patriot League Presidents' Cup Race



Nov. 27, 2012

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - After winning three titles in the fall, Colgate has taken the lead in the Patriot League Presidents' Cup race with seven sports complete.

The Raiders took home titles in football, women's soccer and volleyball and also made the Patriot League Tournament in men's soccer and field hockey to finish the fall with 37.75 points and in first place overall. Colgate was followed in the overall standings by American and Lehigh with 32 points apiece. Bucknell (27.75), Navy (27.5), Army (23), Lafayette (22.25) and Holy Cross (17.5) filled out the standings. The Mountain Hawks won the Patriot League title in men's cross country, while the Mids claimed the crown on the women's side. Lafayette won a pair of Patriot League championships in the fall as it came out on top in field hockey and men's soccer.

The races for the men and women's titles are both close with the fall schedule complete. Lehigh (16) holds a slight lead over Colgate (15) in the men's standings with the pair followed by American (13.5), Lafayette (11.25), Bucknell (10), Holy Cross (9.5), Navy (8) and Army (7). In the women's race, Colgate (22.75) has the edge over Navy (19.5), American (18.5), Bucknell (17.75), Army (16), Lehigh (16), Lafayette (11) and Holy Cross (8).

Patriot League Presidents' Cup points are awarded based on a team's performance in the regular season and postseason Patriot League standings. In cross country, golf, rowing, swimming and diving and track and field, the points are awarded based on the final team standing at the Patriot League Championship. Points for football are awarded based on regular-season standings.

Navy won its first overall Patriot League Presidents' Cup in 2011-12, and also claimed the title on the women's side for the first time. Lehigh claimed the men's title for the fourth time in school history and first since 2006. Bucknell has won the overall Presidents' Cup title 17 times, including six in a row before Navy broke the streak last year. Army is the only other team in League history to win the cup, taking home four trophies (1994, 1995, 1997, 2005).

2012-13 Patriot League Presidents' Cup Standings
(through Fall 2012)

1. Colgate, 37.75
2. American, 32
Lehigh, 32
4. Bucknell, 27.75
5. Navy, 27.5
6. Army, 23
7. Lafayette, 22.25
8. Holy Cross, 17.5

1. Lehigh, 16
2. Colgate, 15
3. American, 13.5
4. Lafayette, 11.25
5. Bucknell, 10
6. Holy Cross, 9.5
7. Navy, 8
8. Army, 7

1. Colgate, 22.75
2. Navy, 19.5
3. American, 18.5
4. Bucknell, 17.75
5. Army, 16
Lehigh, 16
7. Lafayette, 11
8. Holy Cross, 8