Patriot League Announces Nominations for NCAA Woman of the Year Award

PATRIOTLEAGUEDOTORG Elizabeth Hoerner and Alexis Dobbs
Elizabeth Hoerner and Alexis Dobbs

June 19, 2014

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - The Patriot League will forward the names of two successful and accomplished female student-athletes for the 2014 NCAA Woman of the Year Award, the League announced on Thursday. American University's Alexis Dobbs and Navy's Elizabeth Hoerner were chosen by the Patriot League's Senior Woman Administrators for their excellence in the four areas of importance for the NCAA Woman of the Year award: academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership.

Dobbs, a four-year starter for the Eagles women's basketball team, and Hoerner, a two-year starter in goal for the Mids women's soccer team, both graduated in May with an impressive resume of academic and athletic accomplishments.

A native of Berea, Ohio, Dobbs led American to WNIT appearances in 2012 and 2014 and finished her career in the top 10 in program history in scoring, assists, steals and 3-point field goal percentage.

A three-year team captain, Dobbs was named to the Patriot League All-Rookie team in 2011 and the All-League teams from 2012-14. Dobbs was presented with American University's Presidents Award, the most prestigious honor bestowed upon a student at American University. She was also awarded an NCAA Postsgraduate Scholarship and was an American University Barbara J. Reimann Postgraduate Scholar.

In March, Dobbs joined Army's Erin Anthony (2011) as the only three-time winners of the Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. She graduated in May with a 3.82 grade point average in public health and plans to enter a joint program through Cleveland State University and Cuyahoga Community College to earn her M.S. in physician assistant studies.

During her time at American, Dobbs participated in several campus and community volunteer and leadership events including serving on the Academic Integrity board, Race for Hope, Light the Night Walk, DC Central Kitchen, USA Science & Engineering Festival and Sports Challenge Leadership Academy.

Hoerner was the 2012 and 2013 Patriot League Goalkeeper of the Year, leading top-seeded Navy into the Patriot League Championship game in each season. The Lititz, Pa., native earned her second consecutive first-team All-League accolade after playing in over 1,521 minutes in net for the Mids. Hoerner was 14-4-0 on the season with a 0.53 goals-against average, .852 save percentage and nine shutouts.

Hoerner received her second consecutive Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete Award in November and has recieved numerous NSCAA, CoSIDA, and senior CLASS athletic and academic honors in each of her two seasons as a starter. Following the fall semester, Hoerner ranked second among her 1,098 classmates in Military Order of Merit and 61st in Overall Order of Merit.

Like Dobbs, Hoerner received an NCAA Postsgraduate Scholarship upon graduating from the U.S. Naval Academy in May with a 3.87 GPA in Oceanography. While at Navy, Hoerner was a team captain and platoon commander as a senior and participated in Campus Crusader for Christ, the Midshipmen Action Group and the Naval Academy Leadership Conference.

Every year, the NCAA encourages each member college and university to honor its top one or two graduating female student-athletes by submitting their names for consideration for the Woman of the Year award. The Patriot League's pair of nominees came from a collection of submitted names from member institutions that also included: Jayme Mask of Boston University, Caitlin Cremin of Colgate, Sara Hennessy of Holy Cross, Rachel Pena of Lafayette, Ana White of Lafayette, Brooke Astor of Lehigh and Marlee Paton of Loyola University Maryland.

The NCAA Woman of the Year selection committee will choose the top 10 honorees in each division and whittle the 30 candidates down to the top three in each division and announce the nine finalists in September. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics will then vote to determine the Woman of the Year, who will be announced at the annual ceremony in Indianapolis on Oct. 19.