Bucknell Claims 2008-09 Patriot League Presidents' Cup



May 18, 2009

2008-09 Final Presidents' Cup Standings Get Acrobat Reader

Center Valley, Pa. - Bucknell has been awarded its 15th Patriot League Presidents' Cup, and fourth consecutive title, it was announced on Monday by Patriot League Executive Director Carolyn Schlie Femovich. The Bison also claimed their 15th women's title, while Army won its first trophy of any kind since 2004-05 by taking the title on the men's side.

Bucknell earned 122 points to take the overall crown, while Navy was in second place for the third year in a row with 109.25 points. Army came in third place overall with 103.75 points, while Colgate was fourth with 91.75 points. Lehigh (86.5), Holy Cross (67.5), Lafayette (62.5) and American (62) rounded out the finishers for the overall title. Bucknell has now won 11 of the last 12 Presidents' Cup trophies.

Bucknell also ran away from the pack in the spring to take the women's title. The Bison had been tied for the top spot with Navy coming into the season, but scored 26.75 points in the spring to win the women's crown with 65.75 points. Navy came in second with 55.5 points, followed in order by Colgate (51), Army (47), Lehigh (45), American (35.5), Holy Cross (32.75) and Lafayette (26.25). The Bison won the women's crown for the 12th consecutive year, including a share of the title with Army in 2004-05.

Army nipped Bucknell for the men's title, as the Black Knights posted 56.75 points to the Bison's 56.25. Army sealed sole possession of first place on the men's side by winning the Patriot League Baseball Championship last weekend. Following the Black Knights and Bison on the men's side were Navy (53.75), Lehigh (41.5), Colgate (40.75), Lafayette (36.25), Holy Cross (34.75) and American (26.5). Army leads all Patriot League programs with 10 men's trophies, winning its first since 2004-05.

Bucknell led Navy by just .25 points entering the spring season, but cemented its 15th Presidents' Cup with a strong showing across the board to finish out the year. The Bison were crowned Patriot League champion in golf, rowing and women's outdoor track and field in the spring, while also recording the most points in men's lacrosse after winning the regular-season crown and advancing to the Championship game. Bucknell also tied for the regular-season title in baseball and placed second in women's tennis and men's outdoor track and field during the spring season. Bucknell's 2008-09 season also included second-place finishes in men's swimming and diving, women's cross country and men's and women's indoor track and field, as well as a runner-up finish in the field hockey tournament.

Navy captured six League crowns in the 2008-09 season, tying for the most in the Patriot League after leading all schools a year ago. Two of those championships came in the spring, as the Mids won the title in men's tennis and men's lacrosse. Navy also finished in second-place in golf, rowing and women's outdoor track and field during the spring, and was the runner-up in the women's lacrosse tournament. The Mids also won championships in men's and women's cross country, men's swimming and diving and women's indoor track and field during the 2008-09 campaign.

Army matched Navy with six Patriot League Championships, including three in the spring season. In addition to the baseball title, Army won it all in women's tennis and men's outdoor track and field during the spring. The Black Knights finished as the runner-up in the men's tennis tournament. Army previously won Patriot League titles in men's indoor track and field, women's soccer and men's cross country during the 2008-09 campaign.

Colgate's fourth-place finish came after a 2008-09 season where the Raiders won four Patriot League titles. The Raiders claimed the women's lacrosse championship in the spring to go with prior titles in football, men's soccer and women's swimming and diving.

Lehigh won Patriot League titles in softball and women's basketball during the 2008-09 season. The Mountain Hawks won both crowns after also finishing in first place in the regular season.

Holy Cross' best finishes during the 2008-09 season were a second-place position in men's basketball, football and the men's soccer tournament.

Lafayette placed second in three different Patriot League tournaments in 2008-09, as the Leopards were the runner-up in women's basketball, softball and baseball.

American won Patriot League titles in volleyball, field hockey and men's basketball in the 2008-09 season, and finished tied for first in the regular season in men's soccer and in second place in the regular-season standings in women's basketball.

Bucknell and Army are the only two institutions to win the overall Patriot League Presidents' Cup, with the Bison earning 15 titles and the Black Knights taking home four (1994, 1995, 1997, 2005).

Patriot League Presidents' Cup points are awarded based on a team's performance in the regular season and postseason Patriot League standings across the League's 23 Division I sports. In cross country, football, golf, rowing, swimming and diving and track and field, the points are awarded on the final team standings. In team sports with postseason tournaments, points are awarded based on a combination of a team's finish at the Patriot League Championship and the regular-season standings.

2008-09 Patriot League Final Presidents' Cup Standings
(Through 23 sports)

Overall Standings
1. Bucknell, 122 (23)
2. Navy, 109.25 (19)
3. Army, 103.75 (19)
4. Colgate, 91.75 (22)
5. Lehigh, 86.5 (23)
6. Holy Cross, 67.5 (23)
7. Lafayette, 62.5 (22)
8. American, 62 (15)

Men's Standings
1. Army, 56.75 (10)
2. Bucknell, 56.25 (11)
3. Navy, 53.75 (10)
4. Lehigh, 41.5 (11)
5. Colgate, 40.75 (10)
6. Lafayette, 36.25 (11)
7. Holy Cross, 34.75 (11)
8. American, 26.5 (6)

Women's Standings
1. Bucknell, 65.75 (12)
2. Navy, 55.5 (9)
3. Colgate, 51 (12)
4. Army, 47 (9)
5. Lehigh, 45 (12)
6. American, 35.5 (9)
7. Holy Cross, 32.75 (12)
8. Lafayette, 26.25 (11)
( ) - Number of sports in parenthesis