Navy Pulls Ahead in Patriot League Presidents' Cup Race



March 27, 2014

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Championships in three winter sports and a regular-season title in another has lifted Navy into a solid lead in the race for the 2013-14 Patriot League Presidents' Cup heading into the spring.

The Mids, who led by one point after the fall season, won League titles in men and women's swimming and diving and men's indoor track and field in the winter while also claiming the regular-season crown in women's basketball. Navy has a total of 88.25 points in the overall Presidents' Cup standings, coming in ahead of second-place Boston University at 81.5. The Terriers won the women's indoor track and field title in the winter while also taking first place in the regular season in men's basketball.

Following Navy and Boston University in the overall standings are Bucknell (79.5), Army (78), Lehigh (69), American (68.75), Holy Cross (51.25), Colgate (49.5), Lafayette (42.25) and Loyola University Maryland (24.5). American won the Patriot League Men's Basketball Championship while Army claimed the women's basketball title in the winter.

Both the men and women's races are very tight heading into the spring. Navy (40.25) has the lead in the men's standings, followed by Army (38), Bucknell (37), Boston University (33.5), Lehigh (29.75), American (29.25), Holy Cross (26.75), Lafayette (20.75), Colgate (20) and Loyola (9.25). Navy and Boston University are tied for the women's lead with 48 points apiece, with Bucknell (42.5), Army (40), American (39.5), Lehigh (39.25), Colgate (29.5), Holy Cross (24.5), Lafayette (21.5) and Loyola (15.25) completing the standings.

Navy has already won five Patriot League titles in 2013-14, also taking the crown in men's cross country and men's soccer in the fall. American (field hockey, volleyball, men's basketball) and Boston University (women's cross country, women's soccer, women's indoor track and field) have each won three, while Lafayette (football) and Army (women's basketball) have one League title apiece.

Patriot League Presidents' Cup points are awarded based on a team's performance in the regular season and postseason Patriot League standings. In cross country, golf, rowing, swimming and diving and track and field, the points are awarded based on the final team standing at the Patriot League Championship. Points for football are awarded based on regular-season standings. There are still 11 Patriot League titles to be handed out in 2013-14, as baseball, softball, men and women's lacrosse, men and women's tennis, men and women's golf, men and women's outdoor track and field and women's rowing will all be decided in the spring.

Bucknell has won the overall Patriot League Presidents' Cup 18 times, holding off Navy by 0.5 points in the closest final margin ever in 2012-13. Lehigh edged the Bison in last year's men's standings for its second consecutive and fifth overall title, while Navy won on the women's side for the second straight time. Bucknell has won seven of the last eight overall Patriot League Presidents' Cup titles, with Navy breaking a Bison streak of six in a row in 2011-12. Army is the only other team in League history to win the overall cup, taking home four trophies (1994, 1995, 1997, 2005).

Patriot League Presidents' Cup Standings (Through Winter 2014)

1. Navy, 88.25 points
2. Boston University, 81.5
3. Bucknell, 79.5
4. Army, 78
5. Lehigh, 69
6. American, 68.75
7. Holy Cross, 51.25
8. Colgate, 49.5
9. Lafayette, 42.25
10. Loyola, 24.5

1. Navy, 40.25
2. Army, 38
3. Bucknell, 37
4. Boston University, 33.5
5. Lehigh, 29.75
6. American, 29.25
7. Holy Cross, 26.75
8. Lafayette, 20.75
9. Colgate, 20
10. Loyola, 9.25

1T. Boston University, 48
1T. Navy, 48
3. Bucknell, 42.5
4. Army, 40
5. American, 39.5
6. Lehigh, 39.25
7. Colgate, 29.5
8. Holy Cross, 24.5
9. Lafayette, 21.5
10. Loyola, 15.25